罗克斯伯里拉丁是一个民主聚集的社区,来自不同背景的人因为共同的目标和共同的理想而聚集在一起。

Roxbury Latin的社区和文化

罗克斯伯里拉丁学校是一个民主化的社区,在这所学校里,来自不同背景的人通过共同的目标和共同的理想走到了一起。性格的培养是我们的身份和工作的核心,这意味着我们的目标是教育男孩,不仅仅是为了他们自己的智力成果,而是为了让他们理解自己的责任,为整个社会做出有意义的、积极的贡献,并最终为社会做出贡献。对公平、正义的持续关注,以及对我们如何积极影响各种社区的关注,是罗克斯伯里拉丁学校教师不仅要教,而且要为所有学生做出示范和坚持的特点。我们还努力帮助男孩发现认识和理解那些环境、信仰和兴趣与自己不同的人的乐趣。

作为顾问,在我们了解和爱护每个男孩的主要承诺指导下,我们的目标是有效地理解和倡导每一个男孩,并时刻注意他的独特属性、天赋和挑战。在我们所做的一切中,我们旨在平衡罗克斯伯里拉丁学校的优点--我们的传统、我们的关系以及我们作为一所古老的古典学校的历史--同时着眼于积极的成长,并深刻认识到我们是谁,我们在哪里,以及我们要成为什么。

我们的目标是确保Roxbury Latin是一个欢迎、包容、支持每个学生学习和成长的地方。 Roxbury Latin的每一个空间都应该是,也必须是一个对所有人都安全的空间。我们工作的一部分是确保这种情况的发生。我们工作的另一部分是与学生接触,创造讨论的机会,其中一些是一般性的和包容性的,另一些则是针对更具体的身份群体的。这些对话的目的是让学生感到安全的分享,也是倾听、联系、反思和学习的机会。

为满足我们所照顾的男孩的需要,需要不断地考虑、对话和努力。我们重视个人给学校带来的各种观点,并要求学生和成人尊重彼此的背景和经验,并有机会讨论、提出不同意见、提出问题和旨在理解,特别是当涉及到种族、身份或社会正义的话题时。正如我们鼓励我们的学生在困难但有价值的事业中坚持下去一样,我们的目标是树立这种承诺和坚持的榜样。

以下是罗克斯伯里拉丁学校努力将一群不同的、独特的和独立的个人发展成为一个有凝聚力的、合作的 "兄弟团体 "的一些方式,他们被一个共同的使命和对卓越的共同奉献所统一,同时也被经验、背景和前景的多样性所丰富、深化和提高。

  • 无需求的录取和入学

    20多年来,罗克斯伯里拉丁学校一直坚持不考虑需求的招生和入学政策,通过这一政策,学生被录取和入学时不考虑其家庭的支付能力。忠实于罗克斯伯里拉丁学校的根基,男孩们都是按成绩入学的。这一承诺使我们能够吸引来自不同的社会、经济、种族、民族和宗教背景的勤奋和有能力的学生群体。我们确保每个学生都能平等地享受到罗克斯伯里拉丁学校的全部服务--这包括所有的体育和课外活动,所有的校外活动和旅行机会,以及获得考试准备和心理服务。我们坚持要求我们的男孩--以及我们的教职员工--致力于通才模式,追求对许多活动和课程的参与和投资,并且我们寻求具有活力的个性和热情的兴趣,有能力深入和广泛参与的男孩。因此,男孩们很自然地尝试各种角色,发现天赋和激情,培养领导能力,以及合作精神。在RL,人们被期望去尝试,如果他失败了,也会得到支持。在所有这些努力中,我们多年来的目标一直是对多样性的深刻承诺。

  • 课程评估和更新

    每年,作为我们课程规划工作的一部分,我们都会仔细检查所有年级和课程,以探索我们如何纳入新的文本,增加新的声音,并将多个学科的主题联系起来。 我们的目标是确保我们都在尽自己的努力,使所涉及的内容和所隐含的课程具有包容性、相关性和平衡性,渴望我们的孩子在从这里走向世界的过程中,从对内容、技能及其应用的新思考中受益。

    2020年夏天,负责课程的助理校长和社区与文化主任分别与各系主任会面,然后与课程委员会会面,与教师们一起评估我们可以在哪些方面对课程进行修改,以集中少数民族的声音,并扩大男孩的探索范围--特别是在美国和全球历史课程以及英语课程中,也包括环境科学、音乐、古典文学、现代语言和健康课程,例如。这一短期目标的实践导致了2020-2021学年的变化,包括在英语课程的每个层次上至少有一部新的小说、戏剧、诗集或短篇小说;在历史课程中,持续承诺提供侧重于多样化视角和文化的高年级选修课(最近的课程是种族和性别,以及加勒比三岛),以及在每个男孩遇到的课程中增加不同视角的原始资料。其他部门也在通过公平、多样性和包容性的视角审视他们的课程,并在全年增加单元、阅读和反思。例如,七年级历史课程的单元改进,重点是波士顿的历史,学生将更充分地探索非裔美国人和原住民对波士顿历史的贡献;在八年级,古典文学系旨在通过花时间探索罗马与北非和迦太基人的对抗,提供一个更加世界性的罗马世界观;在各年级的英语课上,课程中加入了新的读物,包括 汉斯贝里的 阳光下的葡萄干,怀特海的《镍男孩》,西斯内罗斯的《芒果街的房子》,莫里森的《所罗门之歌》,以及道格拉斯的《弗雷德里克-道格拉斯的生活叙事》。

    2007年,我们决定我们的学生需要成为更多的全球学习者,因此,我们启动了罗克斯伯里拉丁学校在法国和西班牙的沉浸式课程,罗马和希腊之旅,以及其他各种旅行,将男孩带到这个国家的西北部、撒哈拉以南非洲、澳大利亚、印度、中国、美国各地、南美和欧洲的各个国家。罗克斯伯里拉丁学校与博茨瓦纳具有传奇色彩的Maru-a-Pula学校保持着兄弟学校的关系。每年夏天,罗克斯伯里的男孩们都会在那里居住,他们的学生也经常到波士顿来拜访我们,与罗克斯伯里的家庭一起生活,参加课程和学校生活,作为学生交流的一部分。

    近20年来,我们为大男孩提供了有趣的历史选修课。有时,就像2020年与Zine Magubane教授(他教授的课程是 种族与性别),所提供的选修课是聘请具有特殊专长的史密斯学者的结果。例如,在2021-2022年,布莱恩-普奈尔教授将成为学校的史密斯学者,教授一门名为《民权运动史》的选修课。

    然而,其他时候,这些课程是明确的优先事项和部门成员愿意扩展他们的教学的结果。我们很幸运地得到了诸如《中东》、《现代中国》、《现代印度》等选修课。 拉美人的生活。 第一次世界大战,当代全球问题,世界历史,美国外交政策。 哥伦布到查韦斯,全球化经济学边界》。 古代的中世纪世界,以及圣经研究。以及现代欧洲历史、经济学、政府和政治以及艺术史。在我们不断寻求提供非欧洲衍生课程的过程中,今年我们将提供 三个加勒比岛国。古巴、多米尼加共和国和海地以及波多黎各.这门课程由Ernesto Guerra博士教授,将利用历史、政治、文学和文化来培养对我们半球的这些重要国家和文化的欣赏和理解。

    最后,在教育研究公司EAB的协助下,一些教师目前正在领导对学校的系统、实践和政策进行自我审计,重点是公平、包容和多样性。纳入审计的部门不仅包括学术部门,还包括技术、学院指导和发展/校友事务等办公室。

    这项工作是持续的,而且永远不会完成。随着短期、中期和长期目标的制定,我们致力于在前进过程中继续和加强这项工作,并始终牢记我们作为一所古典学校的根基和我们独特的使命。

  • 霍尔。一系列的声音和主题

    罗克斯伯里拉丁舞的一个关键和独特的部分是我们高质量的大厅传统。在某些情况下,演讲者和表演者是为了扩大和深化我们现有的节目,代表了各种类型的优秀作品。讲座的目的还在于将我们的课程中没有涉及到的问题摆在学校面前,并允许扩大男孩对世界、国家和社区的看法。我们一直在努力确保我们邀请的个人对男孩和教师的演讲代表了广泛的观点、背景、身份、职业、激情和专业知识。

    在庆祝RL375周年的时候,我们把近20位不同的校友带到学校,他们代表了学校的巨大多样性,并提供了关于他们的生活和他们作为RL学生以来的有益贡献的证词。此外,在全校范围内开展的选读书目 被驱逐我们对波士顿及周边地区的贫困和无家可归现象进行了研究。一系列的演讲者和我们自己的建床项目,强调了我们有责任理解系统性的不公正,并决心在我们自己的生活中做一些事情来帮助。

    作为2019-2020年的史密斯学者,波士顿学院的社会学家Zine Magubane博士和我们一起度过了一个学期,领导了一门关于种族和性别的选修课;她还发表了两篇令人难忘的Halls,其中一篇侧重于布克-T-华盛顿和RL校友威廉-鲍德温(1881班)的相关历史。我们2021-2022年的史密斯学者是鲍登学院的非洲研究和历史教授布莱恩-普奈尔博士。他将在RL教授一门春季选修课,题目是《民权运动的历史》。

    最近大厅的一些发言人包括。
    国际货币基金组织首席经济学家Gita Gopinath
    Frantz Alphonse '90,AP资本控股公司的创始人和总经理

    Arundhathi Subramaniam,获奖的诗人
    穆罕默德-哈菲兹,视觉艺术家和活动家
    亚当-福斯,检察官影响力的创始人
    Derek Ho '92, Kellogg Hansen的合伙人
    Bo Menkiti '95,Keller Williams Capital Properties的创始人和CEO
    尼基塔-斯图尔特 纽约时报记者和 "1619项目 "的撰稿人
    达利娅-霍奇曼,江恩学院院长
    约翰-森珀'70,编剧和动画艺术家
    亚历克斯-迈尔斯,作家和变性人倡导者
    瓦妮莎-卡尔德隆-罗萨多(Vanessa Calderon-Rosado),IBA-Inquilinos Boric的首席执行官。 IBA-Inquilinos Boricuas en Accion首席执行官
    比尔-沃尔扎克,科德曼广场健康公司的创始人
    伊克巴尔-达利瓦尔,贾米尔贫困行动实验室执行主任
    曼苏尔-沙姆斯,"穆斯林海洋 "的创始人
    Harriet Elam-Thomas,美国外交部门的终身成员
    麻省理工学院和哈佛大学的印度教牧师Swami Tyagananda
    胡安-恩里克斯,作家、技术专家和生命科学专家
    纳希德-巴德利亚,传染病医生

    我们每年的目标是邀请代表不同背景、观点和职业的演讲者,但也有一些人将从不同的角度直接谈论种族和社会正义的问题。

    每年,我们都希望男孩和成年人在大厅里或以其他方式与他们的同学和教师分享他们引以为豪的身份、文化和传统的元素。在这些传统中,每年都有关于世界伟大信仰传统的介绍。学校还定期举办各种主题的论坛--当前事件、历史纪念日、与社会责任或社会正义有关的主题--在这些论坛上,男孩和成年人聚集在一起,分享他们的观点,并尊重地辩论不同的观点。我们将继续加强这些服务和机会。

  • 专业发展

    我们的教职员工的持续教育是Roxbury Latin的一个优先事项。每年,许多罗克斯伯里的成年人都会在他们的学科、新兴技术和教学法、对青春期男孩的教学和照顾、以及了解与公平、多样性和包容性有关的主题方面进行课程学习,以便最好地支持我们的学生。近年来,我们作为一个完整的教师团队,参与了以后者为重点的专业发展。

    2018年,教职员工在开学时进行了由三部分组成的课程,重点是了解和支持,特别是有色人种的男孩。教师们观看了电影 美国的承诺并参加了关于这部电影的小组讨论;之后听取了大学年龄段的有色人种RL校友的发言,他们分享了自己在罗克斯伯里拉丁学校和大学的经历。

    2019年,通过学校与宾夕法尼亚大学教育研究生院的合作,来自种族赋权合作组织的两位教育工作者花了一天时间与教职员工讨论偏见及其形成过程;理解意图与影响;以及建立共同语言,我们都可以利用这些语言来讨论多样性、公平和包容的话题,并相互尊重地思考。

    2020年,Derrick Gay博士--全国最重要的关于学校如何面对差异挑战的思想家,与教职员工会面,介绍并讨论了学校内部的多样性和种族问题,各个学校的文化如何影响这项工作,以及教职员工可以用来解决多样性问题的技术和理念,以最好地支持他们照顾的学生。

    在2020年夏天,教职工成员参加了每周一次的讨论小组,在讨论中他们遇到了一些关于种族话题的最具挑衅性的著作和电影,包括阿瓦-杜弗内的电影《第13号》、伊布拉姆-X-肯迪的《如何成为一名反种族主义者》和塔-内西-科茨的《世界与我之间》。在2020-2021学年,教职员工还参加了为期四个月的晚间阅读和讨论小组,其中包括Ijeoma Oluo的《你想谈谈种族问题》和其他补充资料。

    2021年,罗克斯伯里拉丁学校推出了一个新的教师专业发展模式,其中包括三个宗旨:教学和学习;多样性、公平和包容;以及为男孩服务。从2021-2022学年开始,教师将在这三个主题中轮流承担年度专业发展任务,这样他们在三年内的工作就涵盖了每个主题。今年,三分之一的教师将在教务主任、社区和文化部主任和助理主任的协助下开展专业的DEI项目。

    学校支持教职员工和男孩参加会议或其他机会,以了解更多关于种族、公平和支持我们不同男孩群体的问题。最近的一些机会包括NAIS有色人种会议,以及2020年全国反种族主义教学活动和2020年夏季为学生举办的同期青少年会议。

  • 教职员工的聘用和支持

    我们的目标是让我们的教职员工反映出罗克斯伯里拉丁学校学生所代表的同样的背景和经历的多样性。这项工作必须包括吸引和雇佣一批有才华的、多样化的成年人--包括女性、有色人种、具有不同宗教背景的个人--并且在他们成为罗克斯伯里社区的一员后,支持和保留他们。

    每年,我们与一些组织合作,帮助我们吸引不同的候选人到罗克斯伯里拉丁学校--包括NEMNET和NAIS招聘会,重点是吸引少数民族申请人。通过我们的宾夕法尼亚学者项目,我们每年为罗克斯伯里拉丁学校带来两名新的、年轻的教师,特别注重引进新的观点,学习新的课程和教学机会,并吸引女性、有色人种和LGBTQ人士来我们学校。近年来,我们的宾夕法尼亚学者广泛代表了一系列的声音、观点和背景,我们的目标是在这一现实的基础上,在他们为我们学校带来的巨大价值上再接再厉。这个项目现在已经在11个不同的学校实施,旨在 "扩大漏斗",以吸引不同的队伍加入独立学院的工作。

  • 社区服务

    RL男孩被告诫要 "领导和服务",而我们长期以来强有力的社区服务计划是我们使命的一个关键支柱。服务项目的目标包括建立关系,向学生介绍他们可能永远不知道的地方和个人,并打开男孩的眼睛,了解我们在波士顿和周围邻居的经历。

    男孩们致力于班级特定的服务项目,以及全年其他可选的服务机会。第六班的男生定期到山下的圣特蕾莎学校与学龄前儿童互动;第五班的男生通过在当地的食品银行工作和每年参加为饥饿而走的活动来支持饥饿行动;第四班的男生全年每月数次到德天宫看望老人;第三班的男生在哈利之家工作,该组织为波士顿的无家可归者和低收入居民服务;第二班的男生为多切斯特的主显学校的学生准备和提供晚餐。在整个学年的周六上午,高年级学生为牙买加平原的松树街旅馆住宅庇护所的居民准备和提供早餐。最后,通过学校的Ave Atque Vale协会,高年级的男生在为无家可归或贫穷的男女提供的墓前服务中担任抬棺人,因为他们没有家人为他们下葬。

    RL人类栖息地分会帮助筹集资金并为波士顿家庭建造房屋,十年来,学生们每周都在学校的计算机实验室辅导老年人,向他们介绍并帮助他们利用各种技术。

    通过我们的各种社区服务活动,我们旨在打开男孩的眼睛,提高他们对社区和周围世界的认识,努力培养理解、尊重和同情心,并培养谦虚的年轻人,致力于在罗克斯伯里拉丁学校毕业后为他人服务,并远远超出我们的围墙。

如果您对罗克斯伯里拉丁学校为其所有成员培养一个公平的、支持性的、多样化的和包容性的学校经验的努力有任何疑问,请联系社区和文化主任Jackie Salas。萨拉斯女士是学校高级领导团队的成员,领导学校不断努力了解和爱护每一个男孩,帮助我们 有意地和明确地扩大我们支持的方式,特别是黑人和棕色的学生和所有有色人种的学生,以及LGBTQ+学生。

杰基-萨拉斯女士

社区和文化、科学、数学主任

杰基-萨拉斯女士

职称
社区和文化、科学、数学部主任

医学部
数学系

联系我
jacqueline.salas@roxburylatin.org

学位
文学学士(2014年) 瑞吉斯大学
硕士学位(2017) 圣母大学

雇以来
2021

Roxbury Latin is a democratically gathered community, where individuals from a diversity of backgrounds are brought together by shared goals and common ideals.

Community and Culture at Roxbury Latin

Roxbury Latin is a democratically gathered community, a school where individuals from a great diversity of backgrounds are brought together by shared goals and common ideals. Character formation, at the heart of who we are and what we do, means we aim to educate boys not just for their own intellectual gains, but so they might understand their responsibility to contribute meaningfully and positively to the whole, and, ultimately, to society. The ongoing concern for fairness, for justice, for how we can positively affect various communities are traits the faculty of Roxbury Latin aim not only to teach, but also to model and insist upon for all students. We also work to help boys discover the joy of knowing and understanding others whose circumstances, beliefs, and interests are unlike their own.

As advisors—guided by our primary promise to know and love each boy—we aim to be effective in understanding and advocating for every single boy, mindful always of what his unique attributes, gifts, and challenges might be. In everything we do, we aim to balance the best of Roxbury Latin—the best of our traditions, our relationships, and our history as an old, Classical school—with an eye toward positive growth, and with deep awareness of who we are, where we have been, and what we aim to be.

We aim to ensure that Roxbury Latin is a welcoming, inclusive, supportive place for every student to learn and grow. Every space at Roxbury Latin should be, and must be, a safe space for all. One part of our work is to ensure that such is the case. The other part of our work entails engaging with students to generate opportunities for discussion, some of which are general and inclusive, others that are tailored to more specific identity groups. These conversations aim to be ones in which students feel safe sharing, but also opportunities for listening, connecting, reflecting, and learning.

Serving the needs of the boys in our care requires ongoing consideration, conversation, and effort. We value the variety of perspectives individuals bring to the school and require that students and adults respect one another’s backgrounds and experiences, as well as have opportunities to discuss, disagree, ask questions, and aim to understand, especially when it comes to issues of race, identity, or topics of social justice. In the same way that we encourage our students to persist through difficult but worthy undertakings, we aim to model that commitment and persistence.

Below are some of the ways in which Roxbury Latin strives to develop a collection of disparate, distinctive, and independent individuals into a cohesive, collaborative “band of brothers” unified by a common mission and a shared dedication to excellence, while also enriched, deepened, and enhanced by diversity of experience, background, and outlook.

  • Need-Blind Admission and Enrollment

    For more than 20 years, Roxbury Latin has maintained a need-blind admission and enrollment policy through which students are admitted and enrolled without regard to their families’ ability to pay. True to Roxbury Latin’s roots, boys are enrolled on merit. This commitment allows us to attract a hardworking and able student body drawn from dissimilar social, economic, racial, ethnic, and religious backgrounds. We ensure that every student has equal access to the full range of Roxbury Latin offerings—which includes all athletic and extracurricular programs, all off-campus and travel opportunities, access to test prep and psychological services. We insist that our boys—as well as our faculty and staff—commit to the generalist model, pursuing involvement and investment in many activities and offerings, and we seek out boys with vibrant personalities and passionate interests who have a capacity for deep and broad involvement. It is, therefore, natural that boys try out and try on various roles, discovering talents and passions and cultivating leadership skills, as well as collaboration. At RL, one is expected to try, and is supported should he fail. Implicit in our goals for these many years has been a deep commitment to diversity.

  • Curricular Assessment and Renewal

    Each year, as part of our curriculum mapping exercise, we take a close look at all grades and courses to explore ways in which we might incorporate new texts, add new voices, and connect themes covered in multiple disciplines. Our goal is to ensure that we all are doing our part to be inclusive, relevant, and balanced in the content covered and the lessons implied, eager that our boys benefit from new thinking about content, skills, and their application as they move on from here out into the world.

    In summer 2020, the Assistant Headmaster for Program and the Director of Community and Culture met individually with each department chair, and then with the Curriculum Committee, to assess with faculty where we might make changes in the curriculum to center minority voices and to broaden boys’ exploration—specifically within United States and global history courses, and English courses, but also in Environmental Science, Music, Classics, Modern Language, and Health courses, for example. This short-term goal exercise resulted in changes for the 2020-2021 school year, including at least one new novel, play, collection of poems or short stories at each level of the English curriculum; in History, an ongoing commitment to offering an upper school elective focused on diverse perspectives and cultures (recently courses in Race and Gender, and Three Carribean Islands), as well as adding primary sources from different perspectives to the courses that every boy encounters. Other departments are also looking at their curriculum through an equity, diversity, and inclusion lens and adding units, readings, and reflections throughout the year. Refinement of units in the Grade 7 History course, for instance, which focuses on the History of Boston, will have students exploring more fully the African American and Native American contributions to the History of Boston; in Grade 8, the Classics Department is aiming to provide an even more cosmopolitan view of the Roman world by spending time exploring the Roman confrontations with Northern Africa and the Carthaginians; and in English classes across grades new readings have been added to the curriculum, including August Wilson’s Fences, Lorraine Hansberry’s A Raisin in the Sun, and Tommy Orange’s There There.

    In 2007, we decided that our students needed to be more global learners, and, therefore, we launched Roxbury Latin’s immersion programs in France and Spain, journeys to Rome and Greece, and various other trips that have taken boys to the Northwest of this country, Sub-Saharan Africa, Australia, India, China, all over the United States, to South America, and to various countries in Europe. Roxbury Latin enjoys a brother school relationship with the legendary Maru-a-Pula School in Botswana. Each summer, RL boys are in residence there, and often their students visit us here in Boston, living with RL families and taking part in classes and school life, as part of a student exchange.

    For the past sixteen years we have offered older boys interesting electives in history.  Sometimes, like in 2020 with Professor Zine Magubane (who taught the course Race and Gender), the electives offered were the result of hiring Smith Scholars with particular specialties. Often, however, the courses are the result of articulated priorities and the willingness of department members to stretch their teaching. We have been fortunate to have such electives as The Middle East, Modern China, Modern India, Latin American Lives, World War I, Contemporary Global Issues, World History, U.S. Foreign Policy, Columbus to Chavez, Economics of Globalization, Borders, Medieval World in Antiquity, and Biblical Studies, as well as Modern European History, Economics, Government and Politics, and Art History. In our ongoing quest to offer non-European derived courses, this year we will offer Three Caribbean Islands: Cuba, Dominican Republic and Haiti and Puerto Rico. This course—taught by Dr. Ernesto Guerra—will utilize history, politics, literature, and culture to foster an appreciation for and understanding of these important countries and cultures in our own hemisphere.

    This work is ongoing, and never complete. With short-, medium-, and long-term goals in place, we are committed to continuing and enhancing this work as we move forward, always with our roots as a Classical school and our distinctive mission in mind.

  • Halls: A Range of Voices and Topics

    A key and unique part of Roxbury Latin’s program is our tradition of high quality Halls. In some cases, the speakers and performers are intended to broaden and deepen our existing program representing excellences of all kinds. Halls also are intended to put before the school issues that are not routinely covered in our courses and allow for the expanding of boys’ views of the world, the nation, and their communities. We work hard always to ensure that the individuals we invite to speak to the boys and faculty represent a broad range of perspectives, backgrounds, identities, professions, passions, and expertise.

    In celebration of RL’s 375th anniversary, we brought to the school nearly twenty different alumni who represented the school’s great diversity, and offered testimonials about their lives and their helpful contributions since their time as RL students. Additionally, launched by the optional, school-wide reading of the book Evicted by Matthew Desmond, we pursued a study of poverty and homelessness in Boston and beyond. A series of speakers, and our own bed-building project, underscored the responsibility we have to both understand systemic injustice, and to resolve in our own lives to do something to help.

    As last year’s Smith Scholar, Dr. Zine Magubane, a sociologist at Boston College, was with us for a term leading an elective on race and gender; she also delivered two memorable Halls, one focused on the connected histories of Booker T. Washington and RL alumnus William Baldwin, Class of 1881.

    Some recent Hall speakers include:
    Frantz Alphonse ‘90, Founder and Managing Director of AP Capital Holdings
    Arundhathi Subramaniam, award-winning poet
    Mohamad Hafez, visual artist and activist
    Adam Foss, Founder of Prosecutor Impact
    Derek Ho ‘92, Partner at Kellogg Hansen
    Bo Menkiti ‘95, Founder and CEO of Keller Williams Capital Properties
    Nikita Stewart, New York Times journalist and contributor to “1619 Project”
    Dalia Hochman, Head of Gann Academy
    John Semper ‘70, screenwriter and animation artist
    Alex Myers, transgender educator and author
    Vanessa Calderon-Rosado, CEO of IBA-Inquilinos Boricuas en Accion
    Bill Walczak, Founder of Codman Square Health
    Iqbal Dhaliwal, Executive Director of the Jameel Poverty Action Lab
    Matthew Desmond, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Evicted

    This year we will continue to host speakers who represent a diverse range of backgrounds, perspectives, and professions, but also some who will speak directly to issues of race and social justice, from a variety of angles, including Mansoor Shams and Ambassador Harriet Elam-Thomas.

    Each year, we hope boys and adults will share elements of their identities, cultures, and traditions of which they are proud with their schoolmates and the faculty, during Hall or in other ways throughout the year. Among these traditions are annual presentations on the world’s great faith traditions. The school also regularly hosts forums on various topics—current events, historical anniversaries, topics related to social responsibility or social justice—during which boys and adults come together to share their perspectives and respectfully debate differing points of view. We will continue to build on these offerings and opportunities.

  • Professional Development

    The ongoing education of our faculty and staff is a priority at Roxbury Latin. Each year, many RL adults pursue coursework focused on their academic disciplines, emerging technology and pedagogy, teaching and caring for adolescent boys, and understanding topics related to equity, diversity, and inclusion, in order to best support our students. In recent years, we have, as a full faculty, engaged in professional development focused on the latter.

    In 2018, faculty and staff began the school year with a three-part session focused on understanding and supporting, in particular, boys of color. Faculty watched the film American Promise; engaged in small group discussions about the film; and heard afterward from a panel of college-aged RL alumni of color, who shared their experiences from Roxbury Latin and from college.

    In 2019, through the school’s partnership with Penn’s Graduate School of Education, two educators from the Racial Empowerment Collaborative spent a day with faculty and staff discussing biases and how they are formed; understanding intention versus impact; and establishing common language that we can all enlist to discuss topics of diversity, equity and inclusion thoughtfully and respectfully with one another.

    In 2020, Dr. Derrick Gay—one of the country’s foremost thinkers on how schools confront challenges of difference—met with the faculty and staff to contextualize and discuss issues of diversity and race within schools, how individual schools’ cultures inform this work, and techniques and philosophies faculty can use to address issues of diversity to best support the students in their care.

    The school supports faculty and staff members—as well as boys—wishing to participate in conferences or other opportunities to learn more about issues of race, equity, and supporting our diverse group of boys. Some of these recent opportunities have included the NAIS People of Color Conference, as well as the 2020 National Anti-Racism Teach-In and concurrent Teen Conference for students in summer 2020.

    Finally, during the summer of 2020, members of the faculty and staff participated in a weekly discussion group in which they encountered some of the most provocative writings and films of the times on topics of race, including Ava Duvernay’s film 13th, Ibram X. Kendi’s book How to be an Antiracist, and Ta-Nehisi Coates’s book Between the World and Me.

  • Faculty and Staff Hiring and Support

    We aim to have our faculty and staff reflect the same diversity of backgrounds and experiences that Roxbury Latin students represent. That work must include both attracting and hiring a talented and diverse cohort of adults—including women, people of color, individuals with diverse religious backgrounds—and also supporting and retaining them once they’re part of the RL community.

    Each year, we partner with a number of organizations that help us to attract diverse candidates to Roxbury Latin—including NEMNET, and NAIS hiring fairs focused on attracting minority applicants. Through our Penn Fellows program we bring, each year, two new, young faculty members to Roxbury Latin, with a special focus on introducing fresh perspectives, learning about new curricular and pedagogical opportunities, and attracting women, people of color, and LGBTQ individuals to our school. Our Penn Fellows in recent years have been broadly representative of a range of voices, perspectives and backgrounds, and we aim to build on that reality and on the great value they bring to our school. This program, now in eleven different schools, is intended to “broaden the funnel” for attracting a diverse cohort to independent school work.

  • Community Service

    RL boys are admonished to “lead and serve,” and our long-standing and robust community service program is a key pillar of our mission. The service program’s goals include relationship-building, introducing students to spaces and individuals they may otherwise never know, and opening boys’ eyes to the experiences of our neighbors in and around Boston.

    Boys are committed both to class-specific service projects, as well as to other, optional service opportunities throughout the year. Class VI boys make regular visits to St. Theresa’s School down the hill to interact with preschoolers; Class V boys support hunger initiatives by working at a local food bank and participating in the Walk for Hunger each year; Class IV visits the elderly at the Deutsches Altenheim several times a month throughout the year; Class III boys work at Haley House, an organization serving the homeless and low-income residents of Boston; Class II devotes hours to the students at Epiphany School in Dorchester, where they prepare and serve dinner. On Saturday mornings throughout the school year, seniors prepare and serve breakfast for the residents of the Pine Street Inn residential shelter in Jamaica Plain. Finally, through the school’s Ave Atque Vale Society, boys in the senior class serve as pallbearers at graveside services for homeless or indigent men and women who have no family to bury them.

    The RL chapter of Habitat for Humanity helps to raise money and build homes for Boston families, and for ten years students have tutored senior citizens each week in the school’s computer lab to introduce them to and assist them with utilizing various technology.

    Through our various community service initiatives we aim to open boys’ eyes and increase their awareness of the community—and the world around them—in an effort to engender understanding, respect, and compassion, and to develop humble young men, committed to serving others well beyond their Roxbury Latin years and well beyond our walls.

If you have questions related to Roxbury Latin’s efforts toward cultivating an equitable, supportive, diverse, and inclusive school experience for all its members, please contact Darian Reid ‘05, Director of Community and Culture. Mr. Reid serves as a member of the school’s senior leadership team and leads in the school’s ongoing efforts to know and love every boy, helping us to intentionally and explicitly expand upon the ways in which we support, in particular, Black and brown students and all students of color, as well as LGBTQ+ students.