Our faculty—dedicated experts in their disciplines—are keenly aware that our primary and collective duty is to serve as role models to our boys.

About our Faculty

Roxbury Latin students often point to their relationships with their teachers—which last well beyond their RL years—as one of the most valuable elements of their education. Our passionate, talented, and dedicated faculty know the boys well, both in and out of the classroom. As role models, they help to instill in our students a desire to live intentional lives of purpose, characterized by concern for others. Relationships among Roxbury Latin faculty and students are strong and deep. Boys understand that the faculty love them and want to help them achieve worthy goals.

Search the Faculty Directory

Mr. Kerry Brennan

F. Washington Jarvis Headmaster

Mr. Kerry Brennan

Title
F. Washington Jarvis Headmaster

Department
History

Contact Me
kerry.brennan@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
AB (1977) Amherst
MA (1983) Columbia

Employed Since
2004

Mr. Mike Pojman

Assistant Headmaster; Allen Latham Professor of Science; Class I Master

Mr. Mike Pojman

Title
Assistant Headmaster; Allen Latham Professor of Science; Class I Master

Department
English, Science

Contact Me
mike.pojman@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BS (1975) John Carroll
MA (1981) St. John’s College

Employed Since
1980

Mr. Daniel Bettendorf

Mathematics

Mr. Daniel Bettendorf

Title
Mathematics

Department
Mathematics

Contact Me
daniel.bettendorf@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (1991) Washington and Lee
MS (1997) Medical College of Virginia
MA (2014) Middlebury

Employed Since
2012

Mr. Chris Brown

History, Penn Fellow

Mr. Chris Brown

Title
History, Penn Fellow

Department
History

Contact Me
chris.brown@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (2018) Bowdoin

Employed Since
2018

Mr. Brian Buckley

Chair, Arts Department

Mr. Brian Buckley

Title
Chair, Arts Department

Department
Arts

Contact Me
brian.buckley@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (1978) Wesleyan
MAT (1983) Carnegie-Mellon
MFA (1985) Carnegie-Mellon

Employed Since
1986

Mrs. Elizabeth Carroll

Science

Mrs. Elizabeth Carroll

Title
Science

Department
Science

Contact Me
elizabeth.carroll@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (1993) University of Virginia
MEM (1999) Yale

Employed Since
2103

Mr. Josh Cervas

Chair, English Department. Joseph R. Kerner Jr. Chairholder in English

Mr. Josh Cervas

Title
Chair, English Department. Joseph R. Kerner Jr. Chairholder in English

Department
English

Contact Me
joshua.cervas@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
B (2000) Amherst
MA (2009) Middlebury

Employed Since
2001

Mr. Andrew Chappell

Director of Studies and Strategic Initiatives; Classics; Class II Master; Director, Fellows Program

Mr. Andrew Chappell

Title
Director of Studies and Strategic Initiatives; Classics; Class II Master; Director, Fellows Program

Department
Classics

Contact Me
andrew.chappell@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (1997) University of Virginia
MA (2006) Dartmouth

Employed Since
1997

Ms. Rary Delaney

Mathematics

Ms. Rary Delaney

Title
Mathematics

Department
Mathematics

Contact Me
rary.delaney@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
AB (1983) Bowdoin
MBA (1997) Boston University
MEd (2003) Harvard

Employed Since
2006

Mrs. Sarah Demers

English

Mrs. Sarah Demers

Title
English

Department
English

Contact Me
sarah.demers@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (2007) Brown
MA (2017) Harvard

Employed Since
2019

Mr. Ousmane Diop

Stanley J. Bernstein Professor of Modern Languages; Chair, Modern Languages Department

Mr. Ousmane Diop

Title
Stanley J. Bernstein Professor of Modern Languages; Chair, Modern Languages Department

Department
Modern Language

Contact Me
ousmane.diop@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (1994) Oberlin
MEd (2001) Harvard

Employed Since
1994

Mrs. Erin Dromgoole

Steven E. Ward Chairholder in History; Learning Specialist

Mrs. Erin Dromgoole

Title
Steven E. Ward Chairholder in History; Learning Specialist

Department
History

Contact Me
erin.dromgoole@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
AB (2001) Dartmouth
MA (2005) Tufts

Employed Since
2006

1 2 3 4