我们的学生在实验室和野外环境中探索自然世界,以发展富有成效的概念方案,并促进科学调查的价值观。

科学

科学的过程--观察我们周围的世界,形成一个假设,测试这个假设,然后批判性地思考和分享结果--是我们作为孩子本能地做的事情。这种探究是一种共同的经历;它是我们与周围世界互动和学习的方式。在罗克斯伯里拉丁学校,科学部努力建立在我们男孩的自然好奇心上,以便使这一过程正规化;提供工具,使学生能够找到他们问题的答案;并在他们如何应用和交流他们找到的答案方面灌输一种责任感。我们希望,在Roxbury Latin的学习过程中,我们的学生从能够背诵科学知识的公式和理论,到单独运用他们的创造力和热情来应用他们所学的知识,批判性地分析和解决他们所关心的问题。我们相信,通过这个过程,我们的毕业生不仅会欣赏科学是如何支撑现代文明的大部分,而且还会成为终身的科学学习者,无论他们选择什么职业。

因此,Roxbury Latin的科学课程力求为学生提供实践经验,创造机会进一步探索和展示课堂上讨论的理论概念。在许多情况下,学生在所学知识的基础上,选择一个领域或主题进行进一步的详细探索。然后他们设计实验,进行研究,并测试他们自己的假设。通过这种方式,他们开始理解科学是一个不断发展和动态的过程。

三级、二级和一级的学生必须从以下课程中至少通过两门实验科学课程。概念物理学(或荣誉物理学)、化学(或荣誉化学)和/或荣誉生物学--尽管大多数人都要学习三门或更多。通常情况下,80%以上的学生将学习三或四门高级科学课程,其中还包括工程和环境科学专题。

我们在高中阶段的科学课程的标准顺序是特意与众不同的。在MSI进行一年的实践探索后,学生在高二时选修荣誉物理学或概念物理学,高二时继续选修荣誉化学或化学,高三时选修荣誉生物学或生物学。环境科学可以在一级课程中单独学习,也可以与荣誉生物学或生物学同时进行。工程专题对高二和高三学生开放,但高二学生如果选择该课程,必须与荣誉化学或化学一起修读;高三学生可以单独修读或与荣誉生物或生物同时修读。

在荣誉物理学中,学生将研究我们对运动、力、能量、光和电荷概念的历史发展。该课程以研究氢原子和原子核的结构为高潮。这项研究是荣誉化学课程的前奏,男孩们在该课程中探索与原子和分子结构有关的化学组合模式和化学能量学。荣誉化学课程为各种原子和简单分子建立模型,包括一些对生物非常重要的有机分子。有了这一必要的化学背景,学习荣誉生物学的男孩能够发展对遗传的分子基础和生命的遗传进化的理解。他们还能将生物化学过程与生物体的结构和功能联系起来。

虽然我们在选修课中使用大学水平的课本,但这些课程并不是专门为高级课程考试而设置的。然而,每年都有一些学生在老师的建议下准备并参加物理、化学和生物的AP科学考试。

在系里的支持和鼓励下,学生有机会在学年中或在暑假期间作为理查德-M-惠特尼学者从事研究。一些罗克斯伯里拉丁学校的男生参加了全国性的科学研究竞赛,包括一名西门子-西屋竞赛的获胜者和两名学生在2020年的科学人才搜索竞赛中被评为最佳学者。罗克斯伯里男孩还在国际物理奥林匹克竞赛中获得了美国物理队的名额。

科学课程

  • 科学与技术

    (六年级)科学与技术从一个介绍性单元开始,利用罗克斯伯里拉丁学校自己的50英亩森林作为一个活的实验室,教授科学观察、数据收集和发展假设的基础技能。此后,该课程由三个互补的、为期10周的单元轮流进行。技术部分。 我们21世纪的世界与科学系的两门课程配对。 生命的设计环境研究.所有这三门课程都采取 "实践 "的方式,将严格的学术研究与频繁的实验活动相结合。

    我们21世纪的世界在《21世纪的世界》中,学生们将了解我们相互联系的数字世界,以及他们如何在其中成为有创造力、有生产力、安全和有道德的公民。计算机、个人设备、应用程序和网络已经变得如此容易使用,以至于它们不再需要对其实际工作方式有太多的了解。学习 "引擎盖 "下发生的事情,使学生有可能更充分地利用技术,成为数字领域的创造性生产者,而不仅仅是消费者,并了解使用技术的风险。学生们将学习晶体管、比特和字节、文件和操作系统,然后继续学习编程语言和控制计算机的方法。男孩们将练习用Python编程,培养对算法、计算思维和编程结构的理解。他们将学习信息如何在网络上移动,什么是互联网,以及什么是网页。他们将通过讨论隐私、匿名、批判性消费、公平使用和互联网道德来结束轮换。

    生命的设计。学生研究生命系统的形式和功能。他们研究生命本身的性质,观察其显著的统一性和难以置信的多样性。他们考虑达尔文的自然选择进化理论如何解释生命的这些特征,并使我们能够理解细胞、器官和生物体的精巧设计。他们通过在实验室中经常观察生物体来发展对科学探索性质的理解。他们使用复合显微镜,进行解剖,并构建模型和模拟来实现这些目标。

    环境研究。 学生们学习地球上的生物和非生物系统以及它们之间的相互联系。他们发现,人类是这些自然系统的一部分,而不是它们的外部。从这个角度出发,男孩们考虑人类活动对环境的影响,重点关注与废物产生和能源使用有关的问题。男孩们不仅仅是了解社会所面临的环境问题;他们还研究如何通过以更环保的方式满足社会的需求来克服这些挑战。

  • 物理科学概论

    (五年级)物理科学入门是一门 专门研究物质的必修课,为期一年。该课程遵循 物理科学入门 (IPS)文本的大部分时间。该课程的设计是让每节课都作为一个研究小组。通过一系列广泛的实验练习,该班研究了物质的特征属性。该课程从木材蒸馏开始,产生木炭和各种 "有气味的液体和气体"。为了进一步研究这些物质,男孩们学习以公制单位测量质量和体积的技术。在进行了一系列练习以发展物理和化学变化中的质量守恒观念后,他们研究了物质的密度、沸点和溶解度。在此,将根据需要对十次方符号、比率和比例的数学知识进行审查。学生们利用特征属性的差异将物质从混合物中分离出来。然后是 "污泥实验室":给学生们提供神秘的混合物,并要求他们在两周的时间内分离和识别混合物的物质。

    在这个练习之后,男孩们通过实验来区分元素和化合物。在春季,课程变得更加以项目为导向,重点是化学过程和环境之间的联系。每个男孩调查一种特定化学元素的来源、特性、用途和安全处置方法。他的研究构成了课堂演讲和书面报告的基础。这个项目将我们的实验室工作与更广泛的世界中的工业和环境问题联系起来。另一个主要项目是探索环境中的水系统,从校园里的池塘到查尔斯河,再到美国或更大世界的另一个主要水系统。市政水源、水质参数和废水处理过程都被研究。学生们在前往伍兹霍尔海洋研究所的实地考察中了解海洋系统。他们对从查尔斯河沿岸几个地方收集的样本进行一系列的实验室测试,并提交结果报告。由于该课程的结果在很大程度上取决于学生在实验室的测量,男孩们体验到测量的不确定性,仔细观察和在笔记本上准确描述的重要性,以及科学过程的集体性质。

  • 数学-科学调查

    (四年级)数学-科学调查(MSI) 是一门基于实验室的全年课程,为学生提供机会研究我们如何利用能源和材料来塑造和控制我们周围的世界。男孩们在跨学科的背景下做这些事情,探索科学、技术、工程、艺术和数学的思想,统称为STEAM。在这个课程中,男孩是积极的学习者,通过调查和实验发现概念,并完成项目,通常是在合作中完成,在这一年中,项目的复杂性不断增加。他们还沉浸在 "创客 "文化中,建立起创造性的信心,使用新发现的技能、工具和技术来处理具有挑战性的问题。

  • 概念性物理学

    概念物理学 是一门基于概念(而不是基于数学)的调查课程,涵盖了许多关于我们物理世界的概念。高级数学技能不是必需的,也不是预期的。学生的重点是通过实践来理解-发现模式,并通过实践活动和演示来检验观点。学生将学习一些技能,如使用测量设备和测量中的不确定性的重要性。他们将学习如何构建一个实验以及如何分析和解释数据。主题包括牛顿力学(运动、力、动量和能量),光学的几何学,以及对波的特性的研究,包括声波和光波。只要有可能,就会与 "现实世界 "的应用联系起来。在春季,学生将研究电、磁和电磁设备,如电机、变压器、扬声器等。学生们将有机会在几个内部竞赛中应用他们所学的概念,如鸡蛋落下的挑战、桥梁建造项目、声音再现装置的设计和建造,以及电机建造。

  • 物理学优等生

    荣誉物理学 是研究我们自然界中的物质和能量。在这门课程中,学生将探索这些课题的定性和定量方面。虽然对概念的理解是最重要的,但学生有很多机会通过观察现象、设计实验、收集和分析数据来实践科学过程,同时得出和提出结论。这种基于实验室和项目的学习贯穿整个课程。在介绍了科学方法之后,该课程迅速进入运动学--研究空间和时间以及事物的运动。如何 事物的运动,包括一维和二维的运动。随后是动力学--对力和事物运动原因的研究,包括对牛顿著名运动定律的介绍。学生在研究各种类型的运动时应用这些定律,包括圆周运动、旋转运动、轨道运动和振荡运动。然后,我们研究粒子在各种相互作用中的能量和动量,包括碰撞。第一学期的重点是粒子和能量的物理学,第二学期的重点是波和能量的物理学(机械波、声波和电磁波,包括光)。主题包括研究声波、静电学和电场、电和直流电流、磁力和电磁感应。最后,我们回顾了光和物质之间的相互作用,最后介绍了早期的量子理论。使用的文本是 吉安科里,物理学第六版,由Pearson, Prentice Hall出版。

  • 化学和荣誉化学

    化学化学优等生 研究我们周围物质和能量世界的结构和变化模式。教科书是Wilbraham, Staley, and Matta, 化学 化学;以及Brown, LeMay, and Bursten, 化学,中心科学 和Brown, LeMay, and Bursten, for Honors Chemistry.这些课程包括介绍性的实验练习和对化学计量学、气体定律和动力学理论的全面研究,对原子中的电子结构和原子间的化学键的定性高级观点,碰撞特性、反应机制、催化作用、平衡、酸和碱的特性以及一些有机化学。优秀化学课比化学课更深入地考虑这些课题。经常性的实验练习和课堂演示会发展和说明理论假设和直接观察之间的关键联系。在实验室里,学生要练习安全的化学操作技术、测量的力学原理、溶液的制备以及化学废物的安全处理。

  • 生物学优等生

    生物学荣誉课程 使罗克斯伯里拉丁学校的全面科学教育达到了顶峰。该课程提供给已经完成化学或荣誉化学课程的一级班级成员。课程文本是Campbell, et al,生物学。概念和联系.阅读和讨论的前提是对物理科学有一定的了解。对生物过程的物理基础的扎实了解使学生能够理解从病毒到智人的生命形式的机制。进化是生物学的排序理论,为所有其他课题的发展提供了背景。主要课题包括生态系统、生物化学、细胞生物学、分子生物学、遗传学、解剖学和生理学。分子机制被强调。对于所有的主题,植物和动物系统在实验室和课堂讨论中被检查。经常性的实验室练习加强和说明了概念性材料。此外,在与工作的科学家协商下,学生设计并执行一个实验来回答他们自己选择的生物问题。

  • 环境科学

    环境科学 是罗克斯伯里拉丁学校全面科学教育的另一个高潮。选修环境科学的男生必须完成化学课程,并得到系里的许可。2011年,人类人口达到70亿。如果目前的趋势继续下去,在今天的Roxbury Latin学生的一生中,人口可能达到100亿。我们不断增长的人口对自然资源--森林、农业用地、海洋、淡水、化石燃料--的使用是可持续的吗?我们今天满足社会需求的方式是否会影响到后代满足其需求的能力?如果是这样,在目前的自然资源使用模式中可以做出哪些改变?在 环境科学中,每个学生都对这些问题提出自己的答案并进行辩护。虽然课程的重点是地球的生物和非生物系统背后的科学,以及人类影响它们的方式,但学生也讨论了经济、社会和文化方面的变革障碍,以及通过教育、公共政策、技术进步和个人行动来克服这些障碍的机会。

    在整个一年中,学生将罗克斯伯里拉丁森林作为一个活的实验室,观察和研究地球的生态和物理系统。主题包括能量流动、水文循环、生物地球化学循环、生物多样性、物种相互作用、土壤、气候和天气、以及林业。学生们揭开了罗克斯伯里拉丁森林的地质和文字历史,并深入了解它今天提供的许多生态系统服务。学生们将他们对当地森林的探索作为一个平台,学习世界上其他主要的生物群落和水生生态系统,并考虑人类行为对环境产生的一系列影响。课程文本是汤姆-韦塞尔斯的 阅读森林景观 (The Countryman Press出版)和 环境学第8版,作者是Raven, Hassenzahl, and Berg(由Wiley出版)。

  • 工程和设计的主题

    工程与设计专题 是为那些希望进一步探索并将他们在数学、科学和艺术方面的技能应用于具有全球意义的真实问题的男孩开设的全年课程。男孩们通过一系列工程领域的定向挑战,建立起分析问题和决策的框架。他们学习机械和电气设计的基本原则,然后将这些原则和分析技术扩展到更复杂的人类和环境系统。在这个过程中,男孩们发现了 "工程 "的意义,并发展了对他们的社区和他们所处的复杂系统的个人和职业责任感。学生们经常在短期和长期项目上进行合作,积极利用技术和研究来解决独特的问题。二年级的男生必须获得教师的许可,并 同时 参加 化学荣誉化学课程

Our students explore the natural world in laboratory and field settings, to develop fruitful conceptual schemes, and to promote the values of scientific investigation.

Science

As we observe the surrounding world, we ask questions, search for order, construct explanations, and try to predict future events. When Roxbury Latin was founded, the exploration and conceptualization of the world was called natural philosophy. Today we call it science.

At Roxbury Latin, students explore the natural world in laboratory and field settings to develop fruitful conceptual schemes and to promote the values associated with scientific investigation: Honesty, is fundamental to reporting observations. Creativity is required to design, conduct, and interpret experiments and to invent concepts that could account for observations. Respect for others follows from the realization that science is a social enterprise that extends over thousands of years and encompasses contributions of individuals from many countries and cultures. Respect for nature is advocated in Francis Bacon’s recognition that “In order to command nature, one must first obey her.” Skepticism accompanies the incomplete, dynamic, and evolving character of science. Our journey from ignorance to partial comprehension of the world around and within us never culminates in the arrogance of absolute certainty.

Science has social as well as personal implications for our students. Scientific knowledge underlies the practical technology that provides the material basis of modern civilization, and scientific concepts provide a common language that transcends boundaries of nationality, religion, or culture. 

Science courses at Roxbury Latin, therefore, seek to acquaint students with the explorations of their predecessors, to challenge students to make their own explorations, and to introduce them to the current state of human knowledge tinged by doubt. Our science courses help students recognize the impact of science and technology on our social and material prosperity and on the environment in which we live.

Students in Classes III, II, and I are required to pass at least two laboratory science courses from the following offerings: Conceptual Physics (or Honors Physics), Chemistry (or Honors Chemistry), and/or Honors Biology—although the majority take three or more. Typically, more than 80 percent of students will have taken three or four upper level science courses, which also include Topics in Engineering and Environmental Science.

Our standard sequence of science courses is unusual: Boys begin with Honors Physics or Conceptual Physics in their sophomore year, continue with Honors Chemistry or Chemistry as juniors, and conclude with Honors Biology or Biology as seniors. Environmental Science may be taken in Class I, alone or concurrently with Honors Biology or Biology. Topics in Engineering is open to both juniors and seniors, although juniors who elect the course must take it along with Honors Chemistry or Chemistry; seniors may take it alone or concurrently with Honors Biology or Biology.

In Honors Physics, students examine the historical development of our concepts of motion, force, energy, light, and electric charge. The course culminates with a study of the structure of hydrogen atoms and atomic nuclei. That study acts as a prelude to Honors Chemistry in which boys explore patterns of chemical combination and chemical energetics related to atomic and molecular structures. Honors Chemistry develops models for various atoms and simple molecules, including some of the organic molecules so important to living creatures. With this required chemistry background, boys in Honors Biology are able to develop an understanding of the molecular basis of heredity and the genetic evolution of life. They can also relate biochemical processes to the structure and function of organisms.

Although we use college-level texts in our elective courses, these courses are not geared specifically for Advanced Placement examinations. Each year, however, a number of students prepare for and take AP science exams in physics, chemistry, and biology with advice from their teachers.

With the support and encouragement of the department, students have the opportunity to engage in research during the school year or during the summer as Richard M. Whitney Scholars. Several Roxbury Latin boys have participated in national science research competitions including a winner of the Siemens-Westinghouse Competition and five finalists in the Science Talent Search competition. RL boys have also earned places on the U.S. Physics Team for the International Physics Olympiad.

Science Courses

  • Science and Technology

    (Class VI) Science and Technology begins with an introductory unit that uses Roxbury Latin’s own 50-acre forest as a living laboratory to teach foundational skills in scientific observation, data collection, and in developing hypotheses. From there, the course is comprised of three complementary, 10-week units taken in rotation. The technology component, Our 21st-Century World, is paired with two Science Department courses, The Design of Life, and Environmental Studies. All three courses take a “hands-on” approach, pairing rigorous academic study with frequent lab activities.

    In Our 21st-Century World, students will learn about our connected digital world and how they can be creative, productive, safe, and ethical citizens within it. Computers, personal devices, apps, and networks have become so easy to use that they no longer require much understanding of the way that they actually work. Learning about what is going on “under the hood” makes it possible for students to take fuller advantage of the technology and become creative producers—not simply consumers—in the digital realm, and to understand the risks of using technology. Students will learn about transistors, bits, and bytes, and move on to learn about programming languages and the ways in which they can control a computer. The boys will practice programming with simple LEGO EV3 robots and develop an understanding of basic algorithms and programming structures. They will learn about how information moves around a network, what the Internet is, and what web pages are, building their own simple page in the process. They will close the rotation with discussions of privacy, anonymity, critical consumption, fair use, and internet ethics. 

    In The Design of Life, students study form and function in living systems. They investigate the nature of life itself, observing its remarkable unity and its incredible diversity. They consider how Darwin’s Theory of Evolution by Natural Selection accounts for these features of life and enables us to understand the exquisite design of cells, organs, and organisms. They develop an understanding of the nature of scientific inquiry by making frequent observations of organisms in the lab. They use compound microscopes, conduct dissections, and construct models and simulations to accomplish these goals.

    In Environmental Studies, students learn about the earth’s biotic and abiotic systems and their interconnections. They discover that humans are part of these natural systems, not outside of them. From this perspective, the boys consider the impacts of human activities on the environment, focusing on issues associated with waste generation and energy use. The boys go beyond simply understanding the environmental problems society is facing; they investigate ways to overcome these challenges by meeting society’s needs in more environmentally sustainable ways.

  • Introductory Physical Science

    (Class V) Introductory Physical Science is a required, full-year course devoted to the study of matter. The curriculum follows the Introductory Physical Science (IPS) text for most of the year. The course is designed to have each class section act as a research team. Through an extensive series of laboratory exercises, the class investigates characteristic properties of substances. The course begins with wood distillation that yields charcoal and a variety of “smelly liquids and gasses.” To investigate such substances further, boys learn techniques for measuring mass and volume in metric units. After a series of exercises to develop the idea of mass conservation in physical and chemical changes, they examine densities, boiling points, and solubilities of substances. The mathematics of power-of-ten notation, ratios, and proportions is reviewed as needed here. Students use differences in characteristic properties to separate substances from mixtures. Then comes the “Sludge Lab”: student partnerships are given mystery mixtures and asked to separate and identify the mixture’s substances during a two-week period.

    Following this exercise, boys experiment to distinguish elements from chemical compounds. The course becomes more project-oriented during the spring with a focus on the connection between chemical processes and the environment. Each boy investigates the sources, properties, uses, and safe disposal methods for a particular chemical element. His research forms the basis of a class presentation and a written report. This project connects our laboratory work with industrial and environmental concerns in the wider world. Another major project explores water systems in the environment from a pond on campus to the Charles River to another major water system in the U.S. or in the wider world. Municipal water sources, water quality parameters, and wastewater treatment processes are examined. Students learn about marine systems during a field trip to the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute. They perform an array of laboratory tests on samples gathered from several locations along the Charles River and present reports on their results. Since the results of the course largely depend on student measurements in the laboratory, boys experience measurement uncertainty, the importance of careful observation and accurate description in notebooks, and the collective nature of the scientific process.

  • Math-Science Investigations

    (Class IV) Math-Science Investigations (MSI) is a lab-based, full-year course that provides students the opportunity to investigate how we use energy and materials to shape and control the world around us. Boys do this in an interdisciplinary context, exploring ideas in science, technology, engineering, the arts, and mathematics, collectively known as STEAM. Boys are active learners in this course, discovering concepts through investigation and experimentation and completing projects, often in collaboration, of increasing complexity over the course of the year. They also become immersed in the “maker” culture, building the creative confidence to use newfound skills, tools, and technologies to approach challenging problems.

  • Conceptual Physics

    Conceptual Physics is a concept-based (rather than a math-based) survey course covering many of the concepts governing our physical world. Advanced math skills are not required or expected. Students focus on understanding by doing—discovering patterns and testing ideas through hands-on activities and demonstrations. Students will learn skills such as using measuring devices and the importance of uncertainty in their measurements. They will learn how to construct an experiment and how to analyze and interpret data. Topics include Newtonian mechanics (motion, forces, momentum, and energy), the geometry of optics, and a study of wave properties, including sound and light waves. Connections will be made to “real world” applications whenever possible. During the spring students will investigate electricity, magnetism, and electromagnetic devices such as motors, transformers, speakers, etc. Students will have an opportunity to apply their learned concepts in several in-house competitions, such as an egg-drop challenge, a bridge building project, the design and construction of sound reproducing devices, and an electrical motor build.  

  • Honors Physics

    Honors Physics is the study of matter and energy in our natural world. In this course, students explore both the qualitative and quantitative aspects of these topics. While conceptual understanding is paramount, students have many opportunities to practice the scientific process by observing phenomena, designing experiments, and collecting and analyzing data while drawing and presenting conclusions. Such lab-based and project-based learning is used throughout the course. After an introduction to the scientific method, the course moves quickly into kinematics—the study of space and time and how things move, including one and two-dimensional motion. Dynamics—the study of forces and why things move—follows, and includes an introduction to Newton’s famous laws of motion. Students apply these laws while investigating various types of motion, including circular, rotational, orbital, and oscillatory. We then investigate the energy and momentum of particles during various interactions, including collisions. Whereas the first semester focuses on the physics of particles and energy, the second semester focuses on the physics of waves and energy (mechanical waves, sound waves, and electromagnetic waves including light). Topics include the study of sound waves, electrostatics and electrical fields, electricity and DC current, magnetism, and electromagnetic induction. Finally, we review interactions between light and matter, culminating in the introduction of the early quantum theory. The text used is Giancoli, Physics 6th Edition, published by Pearson, Prentice Hall.

  • Chemistry and Honors Chemistry

    Chemistry and Honors Chemistry examine patterns of structure and change in the world of matter and energy around us. Texts are Wilbraham, Staley, and Matta, Chemistry for Chemistry; and Brown, LeMay, and Bursten, Chemistry, the Central Science for Honors Chemistry. The courses incorporate introductory lab exercises and a thorough study of chemical stoichiometry, gas laws and kinetic theory, qualitative advanced views of electronic structure in atoms and chemical bonds between atoms, colligative properties, reaction mechanisms, catalysis, equilibrium, properties of acids and bases, and some organic chemistry. Honors Chemistry considers these topics in more depth than does Chemistry. Frequent laboratory exercises and classroom demonstrations develop and illustrate the critical connection between theoretical hypotheses and direct observation. In the laboratory, students practice safe techniques of working chemistry, the mechanics of measurement, solution preparation, and safe disposal of chemical wastes.

  • Honors Biology

    Honors Biology culminates a thorough education in the sciences at Roxbury Latin. It is offered to members of Class I who have completed Chemistry or Honors Chemistry. The course text is Campbell, et al., Biology: Concepts and Connections. Readings and discussions assume a working knowledge of physical science. A solid understanding of the physical basis of biological processes allows students to appreciate the mechanisms that govern life forms from viruses to homo sapiens. Evolution is the ordering theory of biology that provides the context in which all other topics are developed. Major topics include ecosystems, biochemistry, cell biology, molecular biology, genetics, anatomy, and physiology. Molecular mechanisms are emphasized. For all topics, plant and animal systems are examined in the laboratory and in class discussion. Frequent laboratory exercises enhance and illustrate the conceptual material. Also, in consultation with working scientists, students design and execute an experiment to answer a biological question of their own choosing.

  • Environmental Science

    Environmental Science is another culmination of a thorough education in science at Roxbury Latin. Completion of Chemistry and Biology is required of boys electing Environmental Science along with permission of the department. In 2011, the human population reached 7 billion. If current trends continue, the population could reach 10 billion within the lifetime of today’s Roxbury Latin students. Is our growing population’s use of natural resources—forests, agricultural lands, oceans, fresh water, fossil fuels—sustainable? Are the ways in which we meet society’s needs today going to compromise the ability of future generations to meet their needs? If so, what changes can be made in current natural resource use patterns? In Environmental Science, each student develops and defends his own answer to these questions. While the course focuses on the science behind the earth’s biotic and abiotic systems and the ways in which humans are impacting them, students also discuss the economic, societal, and cultural barriers to change, and the opportunities to overcome these barriers through education, public policy, technological advancement, and individual actions. 

    Throughout the year, students use the Roxbury Latin forest as a living laboratory, observing and investigating the earth’s ecological and physical systems. Topics include energy flows, the hydrologic cycle, biogeochemical cycles, biodiversity, species interactions, soils, climate and weather, and forestry. Students uncover the geologic and written history of the Roxbury Latin forest, and take an in-depth look at the many ecosystem services it provides today. The students use their local forest explorations as a platform for learning about the world’s other major biomes and aquatic ecosystems, and for considering the range of impacts that human actions are having on the environment. The course texts are Tom Wessels’ Reading the Forested Landscape (published by The Countryman Press) and Environment, 8th Edition, by Raven, Hassenzahl, and Berg (published by Wiley).

  • Topics in Engineering and Design

    Topics in Engineering and Design is a full-year course for boys who wish to explore further and apply their skills in mathematics, science, and art to authentic problems with global significance. Boys develop a framework for analytical problem solving and decision making through a series of directed challenges in a range of engineering fields. They learn basic principles of mechanical and electrical design, then extend these principles and techniques of analysis to more complex human and environmental systems. Throughout this process, boys discover the meaning of “engineering” and develop senses of personal and professional responsibility for their communities and the complex systems in which they operate. Students frequently collaborate on short- and long-term projects, actively using technology and research to solve unique problems. The course is available to boys in Class I. Class II boys must secure permission of the instructor and take either Chemistry or Honors Chemistry simultaneously.