نحن نهدف إلى مساعدة طلابنا على فهم قوة ونفع الرياضيات في حل مشاكل العالم الحقيقي ، ونقدر منطق الموضوع وجماله.

رياضيات

يأتي الطلاب إلينا كحلالي مشاكل نشيطين وفضوليين، ويهدف قسم الرياضيات في روكسبري لاتين إلى الاستفادة من فضولهم المتأصل. نسعى إلى أن نزرع في طلابنا تقديرا لقوة الرياضيات وفائدتها في حل مشاكل العالم الحقيقي وفهما عميقا للمنطق والجمال الذي يتغلغل في الموضوع. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، نريد أن يستمتع أولادنا بالرياضيات وأن يستمتعوا باستكشاف الأفكار والمشاكل الصعبة والإبداعية.

من أجل التنقل في عالم متزايد التعقيد ، يجب على الطلاب أن يكونوا حلالا فعالا للمشاكل. ويجب أن تكون قادرة على تحديد مشكلة، وفك تشفير المعلومات ذات الصلة، ووضع استراتيجية لمهاجمة المشكلة. ولعل الاقتراب من مشكلة غير مألوفة هو الاحتمال الأكثر تخويفا للطالب، ونحن نؤكد أن عملية التصارع مع المشاكل الصعبة، وعدم الخجل منها، هي كيفية تحسن الطلاب كحلالين للمشاكل. على مدار فترة عملهم في روكسبري اللاتينية، يطور الطلاب المهارات التي تمكنهم من معالجة مجموعة واسعة من المشاكل. في جميع فصولنا، لا يوجد بديل عن الإعداد الدقيق والدقيق، ويجب على الطلاب تحمل المسؤولية الأساسية عن تعلمهم. في حين أنه من الطبيعي أن نرى كل عام من الرياضيات متميزة، ونحن نهدف إلى توفير لطلابنا إطار التي يمكن أن نرى معارفهم الرياضيات تنمو باستمرار بدلا من خطوات منفصلة. إن مدرسي الرياضيات لدينا متحمسون ومتحمسون لهذا الموضوع وينقلون حماسهم باستخدام مجموعة متنوعة من أساليب وتقنيات التدريس.

بناء على الخبرة السابقة والإنجاز، ينقسم الطلاب في الصف السادس في البداية إلى أقسام متقدمة ومنتظمة. في وقت لاحق، وتنقسم الأولاد إلى قسم متسارع (الذي يصل إلى حساب التفاضل والتكامل AP قبل الميلاد في الدرجة الثانية)؛ قسم متقدم (الذي يصل إلى AP Calculus AB أو BC في الفئة الأولى)؛ وقسم أو قسمين منتظمين (التي تصل إلى AP Calculus AB أو AP Statistics في الفئة الأولى). التجمعات مرنة بشكل معقول بحيث يمكن للطلاب الانتقال من قسم إلى آخر عندما يرى القسم ذلك مناسبا.

ميزة فريدة من نوعها لبرنامجنا هو دورة الصف الرابع، التحقيقات الرياضيات والعلوم (MSI). هذه الدورة، التي اتخذتها جميع أعضاء الصف الرابع في أقسام مجمعة بشكل غير متجانس، يوفر تجربة متعددة التخصصات لطلابنا.

بالإضافة إلى الدورات الدراسية ، تتاح للطلاب المهتمين الفرصة لتحدي أنفسهم في المسابقات الخارجية ، على الصعيدين الإقليمي والوطني. وتشمل هذه المسابقات Mathcounts ، ومسابقة Math Madness عبر الإنترنت ، وتسلسل مسابقات الرياضيات الأمريكية: AMC-8 و AMC-10 و AMC-12 و AIME و USA(J)MO.

دورات الرياضيات

  • الرياضيات 7

    تم تصميم الرياضيات 7 لتعريف الأولاد على مجموعة متنوعة من الأفكار الجديدة وترسيخ المفاهيم والمهارات الحاسمة. تتم مراجعة موضوعات ما قبل الجبر التقليدية مثل الكسور والأرقام العشرية والأرقام الموقعة والنسبة المئوية والمساحة والحجم والنسبة والنسبة في سياق حل المشكلات في نقاط مختلفة على مدار العام. كأساس للعمل الرياضي والعلوم في المستقبل، يتم تعريف الطلاب على المبادئ الأساسية لتحليل البيانات، والاحتمالات، والإحصاءات. في الجزء الأخير من السنة، يتعلم الطلاب تقنيات جبرية أساسية مثل حل المعادلات والعوملة وتحليل الوظائف الخطية.

  • الجبر

    تقدم هذه الدورة لمحة شاملة عن أساسيات الجبر. يركز المساق على التقنيات الجبرية، وخاصة العوملة وحل المعادلات وتحليل الوظائف الخطية. تشكل استراتيجيات حل المشاكل عنصرا مهما في الدورة التدريبية ، ويتم تغطية مجموعة متنوعة من مشاكل الكلمات على مدار العام. وتشمل المواضيع الأخرى التي تغطيها الأرقام الحقيقية، والعمليات ذات الحدود المتعددة والكسور الجبرية، وأوجه عدم المساواة، ونظم المعادلات، والتعبيرات الجذرية، والوظائف التربيعية. يستكشف الطلاب الوظائف على نطاق واسع، وهي وظائف متعددة الحدود وعقلانية وأدوية ولوغاريتمية. اعتمادا على القسم، قد تشمل الموضوعات الأخرى التي تمت دراستها المخروطات والتسلسلات والسلاسل، ومقدمة لعلم المثلثات.

  • تحقيقات علوم الرياضيات

    تحقيقات علوم الرياضيات (MSI) هي دورة قائمة على المختبر توفر للأولاد من الفئة الرابعة الفرصة للتحقيق في الأفكار القوية في سياق عملي. يقوم الأولاد بذلك في سياق متعدد التخصصات ، ويستكشفون الأفكار في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والفنون والرياضيات ، والمعروفة مجتمعة باسم STEAM. الأولاد هم متعلمون نشطون في هذه الدورة ، يكتشفون المفاهيم من خلال التحقيق والتجريب ويكملون المشاريع ، غالبا بالتعاون ، من التعقيد المتزايد على مدار العام. كما أنهم يصبحون منغمسين في ثقافة "الصانع" ، وبناء الثقة الإبداعية لاستخدام المهارات والأدوات والتقنيات المكتشفة حديثا للتعامل مع المشكلات الصعبة.

  • هندسة

    تقدم الهندسة مقدمة للتقنيات والأفكار الهندسية. على الرغم من أن أقسام مختلفة نهج هذا الموضوع بطرق مختلفة، جميع المقاطع تطوير النتائج التي تنطوي على خطوط، والطائرات، والمثلثات، والدوائر، والمضلعات، والعامدة، والتطابق، والتشابه، والمنطقة، والحجم. يتم إعادة النظر في التقنيات الجبرية من خلال مواضيع مثل عدم المساواة ، والنسب ، وتنسيق الهندسة. تشكل الكتابة الرياضية والمنطق البديهي والإثبات مكونا طبيعيا للمنهج الدراسي. قد تتضمن موضوعات أخرى ناقلات الإنشاءات وتحويلات التشابه. النص للدورة هو يورغنسن، الهندسة.

  • تحليل

    التحليل مستمر في تطوير المواضيع التي درست في الجبر. تتم إعادة النظر في الوظائف الأسية واللوغاريتمية والثلاثية والمتعددة الحدود والعقلانية بعمق أكبر. وتشمل المواضيع الأخرى التسلسلات والسلاسل، والاحتمالات، والأقسام المخروطية، والإحداثيات القطبية. النص هو فصول ذات الصلة من براون ، والرياضيات المتقدمة.

  • ا ف ب الاحصائيات

    AP Statistics هو علم جمع وتحليل واستخلاص النتائج من البيانات. يغطي المساق أربعة مواضيع رئيسية: تحليل البيانات الاستكشافية (يستخدم الطلاب الرسوم البيانية والأرقام لوصف البيانات وتحليلها) ؛ التصميم التجريبي وأخذ العينات (يكتشف الطلاب الطرق المناسبة لجمع البيانات عن طريق أخذ العينات والتجارب الخاضعة للرقابة) ؛ الاحتمال (يتعلم الطلاب المبادئ الأساسية للمتغيرات العشوائية وتوزيعات العينات) ؛ والاستدلال الإحصائي (يستخلص الطلاب استنتاجات من البيانات باستخدام فترات الثقة واختبارات الأهمية). يأخذ الطلاب امتحان AP.

  • ا ف ب حساب التفاضل والتكامل

    AP حساب التفاضل والتكامل هي واحدة من روائع الرياضيات. في هذا المقرر الدراسي يقوم الطلاب بتوسيع مفاهيم المنحدر والمنطقة لتشمل جميع الوظائف غير الخطية التي درسوها. يتم تقديم هذه الدورة التدريبية المتقدمة على مستويين: AB و BC Calculus. يدرس كلا القسمين المشتقة والمكملة في العمق ، ويغطيان موضوعات مثل خطوط الظل ، ورسم المنحنى ، والمعدلات ذات الصلة ، والتمايز الضمني ، وحقول المنحدر ، ومشاكل التحسين ، والمناطق ، والأحجام ، والمعادلات التفاضلية. فئة حساب التفاضل والتكامل BC يغطي أيضا تقنيات التكامل المتقدمة وسلسلة تايلور. النص لدورات الفئة الأولى AB و BC هو لارسون وإدواردز، حساب التفاضل والتكامل لمتغير واحد. النص لدورة الدرجة الثانية قبل الميلاد هو ستيوارت، حساب التفاضل والتكامل: المفاهيم والسياقات.

  • مواضيع متقدمة في الرياضيات

    تم تصميم الموضوعات المتقدمة في الرياضيات لتزويد الطلاب بالأدوات والتقنيات اللازمة للنجاح في دورات الرياضيات على مستوى الكلية مثل الجبر الخطي ونظرية المجموعة والتحليل الحقيقي. في هذه الدورة، يتعلم الطلاب مجموعة متنوعة من تقنيات الإثبات أثناء تغطية الموضوعات التي يعد إتقانها ضروريا للنجاح في دورات الرياضيات في المستوى الأعلى. وتشمل هذه المواضيع المنطق ونظرية مجموعة، نظرية الأرقام، عد والتعريف، والعلاقات والوظائف، والكاردينالية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، سيطلب من الطلاب التفكير بعمق وإبداع، وحل المشاكل غير القياسية، وصياغة التخمينات، والمخاطرة الرياضية بهدف رؤية الموضوع من خلال عدسة تكشف عن جماله الحقيقي. النص للدورة هو فاندرفيلد، جسر إلى الرياضيات العليا.

  • حساب التفاضل والتكامل متعدد المتغيرات

    حساب التفاضل والتكامل متعدد المتغيرات (عرضت في السنوات البديلة) يمتد مفاهيم وتقنيات حساب التفاضل والتكامل AP إلى وظائف متغيرات عدة. تدمج الدورة محتوى الدورات الجامعية في الجبر الخطي وحساب التفاضل والتكامل المتجهي ، ويؤكد النهج الموحد على بعض الموضوعات العامة (على سبيل المثال ، تتصرف وظيفة غير خطية محليا مثل مشتقتها). يتم التعامل مع الموضوعات بدرجة عالية من التطور الرياضي والصرامة ، ويتم تغطية معظم المهارات من الدورات الجامعية ذات الصلة كما يسمح الوقت. النص هو هوبارد وهوبارد، حساب التفاضل والتكامل ناقلات، الجبر الخطي، وأشكال التفاضلية.

We aim to help our students understand the power and utility of mathematics in solving real-world problems, and appreciate the subject’s logic and beauty.

Mathematics

Students come to us as energetic and inquisitive problem-solvers, and Roxbury Latin’s mathematics department aims to capitalize on their inherent curiosity. We seek to cultivate in our students an appreciation of the power and utility of mathematics in solving real-world problems and a deep understanding of the logic and beauty that pervade the subject. In addition, we want our boys to enjoy math and to have fun exploring challenging and creative ideas and problems.

In order to navigate an increasingly complex world, students must be effective problem solvers. They must be able to identify a problem, decode relevant information, and devise a strategy to attack the problem. Approaching an unfamiliar problem is perhaps the most intimidating prospect for a student, and we emphasize that the process of grappling with difficult problems, and not shying away from them, is how students improve as problem solvers. Over the course of their time at Roxbury Latin, students develop the skills that enable them to tackle a wide array of problems. In all of our classes, there is no substitute for thorough and careful preparation, and students must take primary responsibility for their learning. While it is natural to see each year of mathematics as distinct, we aim to provide for our students a framework in which they can see their mathematics knowledge growing continuously rather than in discrete steps. Our mathematics teachers are excited and energized by the subject and convey their enthusiasm using a variety of teaching methods and technologies.

Based on prior experience and achievement, students in Class VI are initially divided into advanced and regular sections. Later, the boys are divided into an accelerated section (which reaches AP Calculus BC in Class II); an advanced section (which reaches AP Calculus AB or BC in Class I); and one or two regular sections (which reaches AP Calculus AB or AP Statistics in Class I). The groupings are reasonably flexible so that students may move from one section to another when deemed appropriate by the department.

A unique feature of our program is our Class IV course, Math-Science Investigations (MSI). This course, taken by all members of Class IV in heterogeneously grouped sections, provides an interdisciplinary experience for our students.

In addition to coursework, interested students have the opportunity to challenge themselves in outside competitions, both regionally and nationally. These contests include Mathcounts, Math Madness online competition, Harvard-MIT Mathematics Tournament, and the sequence of American Mathematics Competitions: the AMC-8, AMC-10, AMC-12, AIME, and USA(J)MO.

Math Courses

  • Math 7

    Math 7 is designed to introduce boys to a variety of new ideas and to solidify crucial concepts and skills. Traditional pre-Algebra topics such as fractions, decimals, signed numbers, percents, area and volume, and ratio and proportion are reviewed in a problem-solving context at different points throughout the year. As a foundation for future math and science work, students are introduced to the fundamental principles of data analysis, probability, and statistics. The course also includes an introduction to computer programming, allowing boys an opportunity to understand fundamental principles of logic and reasoning. In the latter part of the year, students learn fundamental algebraic techniques such as solving equations, factoring, and analyzing linear functions.

  • Algebra

    This course presents a comprehensive overview of the fundamentals of algebra. The course emphasizes algebraic techniques, particularly factoring, solving equations, and analyzing linear functions. Strategies for solving problems form an important component of the course, and an assortment of word problems is covered throughout the year. Other topics covered include real numbers, operations with polynomials and algebraic fractions, inequalities, systems of equations, radical expressions, and quadratic functions. Students explore functions extensively, namely polynomial, rational, exponential, and logarithmic functions. Depending on the section, other topics studied may include conics, sequences and series, and an introduction to trigonometry.

  • Math-Science Investigations

    Math-Science Investigations (MSI is a lab-based course that provides Class IV boys the opportunity to investigate how we use energy and materials to shape and control the world around us. Boys do this in an interdisciplinary context, exploring ideas in science, technology, engineering, the arts, and mathematics, collectively known as STEAM. Boys are active learners in this course, discovering concepts through investigation and experimentation and completing projects, often in collaboration, of increasing complexity over the course of the year. They also become immersed in the “maker” culture, building the creative confidence to use newfound skills, tools, and technologies to approach challenging problems.

  • Geometry

    Geometry provides an introduction to geometric techniques and ideas. Though different sections approach the subject in different ways, all sections develop results involving lines, planes, triangles, circles, polygons, perpendicularity, congruence, similarity, area, and volume. Algebraic techniques are revisited through topics such as inequalities, proportions, and coordinate geometry. Mathematical writing, axiomatic reasoning, and proof form a natural component of the curriculum. Further topics may include vectors, constructions, and similarity transformations. The text for the course is Jurgensen, Geometry

  • Analysis

    Analysis continues the development of topics studied in Algebra. Exponential, logarithmic, trigonometric, polynomial, and rational functions are revisited in greater depth. Other topics include sequences and series, probability, conic sections, and polar coordinates. The text is relevant chapters from Brown, Advanced Mathematics. With the completion of this course, students are prepared to take the Mathematics Level 1 or Level 2 SAT Subject Test.

  • AP Statistics

    AP Statistics is the science of collecting, analyzing, and drawing conclusions from data. The course covers four major topics: exploratory data analysis (students use graphs and numbers to describe and analyze data); experimental and sampling design (students discover the proper ways to collect data via sampling and controlled experiments); probability (students learn fundamental principles of random variables and sampling distributions); and statistical inference (students draw conclusions from data using confidence intervals and tests of significance). The text is Bock, Velleman, and Deveaux, Stats: Modeling the World

  • AP Calculus

    AP Calculus is one of the masterpieces of mathematics. In this course students extend the concepts of slope and area to all the nonlinear functions they have studied. This Advanced Placement course is offered at two levels: AB and BC Calculus. Both sections study the derivative and integral in depth, covering topics such as tangent lines, curve sketching, related rates, implicit differentiation, slope fields, optimization problems, areas, volumes, and differential equations. The BC Calculus class also covers advanced integration techniques and Taylor series. The text for the AB course is Larson and Edwards, Calculus of a Single Variable. The text for the BC course is Stewart, Calculus: Concepts and Contexts.

  • Advanced Topics in Mathematics

    Advanced Topics in Mathematics is designed to equip students with the tools and techniques needed to succeed in college-level mathematics courses such as Linear Algebra, Group Theory, and Real Analysis. In this course, students learn a variety of proof techniques while covering topics whose mastery is essential for success in upper level math courses. These topics include logic and set theory, number theory, counting and induction, relations and functions, and cardinality. In addition, students will be asked to think deeply and creatively, to solve non-standard problems, to formulate conjectures, and to take mathematical risks with the goal of seeing the subject through a lens that reveals its true beauty. The text for the course is Vandervelde, Bridge to Higher Mathematics

  • Multivariable Calculus

    Multivariable Calculus (offered in alternate years) extends the concepts and techniques of AP Calculus to functions of several variables. The course integrates the content of college courses in Linear Algebra and Vector Calculus, and the unified approach emphasizes certain overall themes (e.g., a nonlinear function behaves locally like its derivative). Topics are treated with a high degree of mathematical sophistication and rigor, and most skills from the relevant college courses are covered as time allows. The text is Hubbard and Hubbard, Vector Calculus, Linear Algebra, and Differential Forms.