Our faculty—dedicated experts in their disciplines—are keenly aware that our primary and collective duty is to serve as role models to our boys.

About our Faculty

Roxbury Latin students often point to their relationships with their teachers—which last well beyond their RL years—as one of the most valuable elements of their education. Our passionate, talented, and dedicated faculty know the boys well, both in and out of the classroom. As role models, they help to instill in our students a desire to live intentional lives of purpose, characterized by concern for others. Relationships among Roxbury Latin faculty and students are strong and deep. Boys understand that the faculty love them and want to help them achieve worthy goals.

Search the Faculty Directory

Mr. Alessandro Ferzoco '14

Development Associate, Classics

Mr. Alessandro Ferzoco '14

Title
Development Associate, Classics

Department
Classics

Contact Me
alessandro.ferzoco@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
AB (2018) Harvard

Employed Since
2019

Ms. Emily Grubb

Science, Penn Fellow

Ms. Emily Grubb

Title
Science, Penn Fellow

Department
Science

Contact Me
emily.grubb@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (2019) Dartmouth

Employed Since
2019

Mr. Tom Guden '96

Director of Development; Classics

Mr. Tom Guden '96

Title
Director of Development; Classics

Department
Classics

Contact Me
thomas.guden@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
AB (2000) Bowdoin
MA (2009) Tufts

Employed Since
2006

Dr. Ernesto Guerra

Spanish

Dr. Ernesto Guerra

Title
Spanish

Department
Modern Language

Contact Me
ernesto.guerra@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
AB (1990) Brown
MA, PhD (2001) Harvard

Employed Since
2008

Mr. Christopher Heaton

Librarian, Archivist, Media Coordinator, History

Mr. Christopher Heaton

Title
Librarian, Archivist, Media Coordinator, History

Department
History

Contact Me
christopher.heaton@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (1990) University of Scranton
MA (1993) University of Scranton
MS (1994) University of Scranton
MS (2012) Simmons College

Employed Since
2013

Mr. Ken Hiatt '93

History, Data Systems Manager, Webmaster

Mr. Ken Hiatt '93

Title
History, Data Systems Manager, Webmaster

Department
History

Contact Me
ken.hiatt@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
AB (1997) Princeton

Employed Since
2004

Ms. Sonja Holmberg

Art, Penn Fellow

Ms. Sonja Holmberg

Title
Art, Penn Fellow

Department
Arts

Contact Me
sonja.holmberg@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BFA (2016) Tufts, School of the Museum of Fine Arts

Employed Since
2019

Dr. Peter Hyde

Science

Dr. Peter Hyde

Title
Science

Department
Science

Contact Me
peter.hyde@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BS (1992) Yale
PhD (2001) Stanford

Employed Since
2001

Mr. Tim Kelly

History

Mr. Tim Kelly

Title
History

Department
History

Contact Me
tim.kelly@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (1994) University of Scranton
MA (1994) University of Scranton

Employed Since
2014

Mr. Mike Lawler '06

Associate Director of College Guidance, Fellows Program, Admission; English

Mr. Mike Lawler '06

Title
Associate Director of College Guidance, Fellows Program, Admission; English

Department
English

Contact Me
michael.lawler@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
AB (2010) Harvard
MA (2016) Middlebury

Employed Since
2018

Mr. John Lieb

Chair, Mathematics Department

Mr. John Lieb

Title
Chair, Mathematics Department

Department
Mathematics

Contact Me
john.lieb@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (1995) Williams
ALM (2014) Harvard Extension School

Employed Since
1998

Dr. Zine Magubane

Smith Scholar, History

Dr. Zine Magubane

Title
Smith Scholar, History

Department
History

Contact Me
zine.magubane@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (1991) Princeton
MA (1994) Harvard
PhD (1997) Harvard

Employed Since
2019