Our faculty—dedicated experts in their disciplines—are keenly aware that our primary and collective duty is to serve as role models to our boys.

About our Faculty

Roxbury Latin students often point to their relationships with their teachers—which last well beyond their RL years—as one of the most valuable elements of their education. Our passionate, talented, and dedicated faculty know the boys well, both in and out of the classroom. As role models, they help to instill in our students a desire to live intentional lives of purpose, characterized by concern for others. Relationships among Roxbury Latin faculty and students are strong and deep. Boys understand that the faculty love them and want to help them achieve worthy goals.

Search the Faculty Directory

Mr. Jim Ryan

Spanish; Arts; Class IV Dean

Mr. Jim Ryan

Title
Spanish; Arts; Class IV Dean

Department
Arts

Contact Me
jim.ryan@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (1993) Holy Cross
MA (2006) Boston College

Employed Since
2009

Ms. Jackie Salas

Director of Community and Culture, Science, Mathematics

Ms. Jackie Salas

Title
Director of Community and Culture, Science, Mathematics

Department
Mathematics

Contact Me
jacqueline.salas@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (2014) Regis
MEd (2017) Notre Dame

Employed Since
2021

Mr. David Smith

Dean of Students; History; English, Health and Wellness

Mr. David Smith

Title
Dean of Students; History; English, Health and Wellness

Department
English, History

Contact Me
david.smith@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (2005) College of William and Mary
MTS (2008) Harvard Divinity School

Employed Since
2022

Mr. Greg Sokol

Mathematics; Science

Mr. Greg Sokol

Title
Mathematics; Science

Department
Mathematics

Contact Me
greg.sokol@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (2010) Dartmouth
BE (2011) Dartmouth
MEd (2015) Lesley

Employed Since
2015

Mr. Arturo Solís

Spanish

Mr. Arturo Solís

Title
Spanish

Department
Modern Language

Contact Me
arturo.solis@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (2004) Cornell
MA (2016) Middlebury

Employed Since
2015

Mr. Sean Spellman '08

Associate Director of Athletics; Health and Wellness; Director of Summer Programs

Mr. Sean Spellman '08

Title
Associate Director of Athletics; Health and Wellness; Director of Summer Programs

Department
Physical Education

Contact Me
sean.spellman@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (2013) Springfield College
MS (2021) Northeastern

Employed Since
2015

Mr. Paul Sugg

Science

Mr. Paul Sugg

Title
Science

Department
Science

Contact Me
paul.sugg@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (1982) Hamilton
MA (1991) Dartmouth

Employed Since
1983

Mr. Tony Teixeira '93

Director of Athletics

Mr. Tony Teixeira '93

Title
Director of Athletics

Department
Athletics

Contact Me
tony.teixeira@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
AB (1997) Bowdoin
MA (2002) Middlebury

Employed Since
1998

Mr. Geoff Theobald

Mathematics

Mr. Geoff Theobald

Title
Mathematics

Department
Mathematics

Contact Me
geoff.theobald@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (1988), MSW (1991) University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Employed Since
2022

Mr. Stewart Thomsen

A. Kenneth Scribner Professor of History; Chair, History Department

Mr. Stewart Thomsen

Title
A. Kenneth Scribner Professor of History; Chair, History Department

Department
History

Contact Me
stewart.thomsen@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
AB (1983) Harvard
JD (1988) Suffolk
LLM (1991) Boston University

Employed Since
1998

Mr. Eric Tran

Penn Fellow, Mathematics, Classics

Mr. Eric Tran

Title
Penn Fellow, Mathematics, Classics

Department
Classics, Mathematics

Contact Me
eric.tran@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
BA (2022) Williams College

Employed Since
2022

Mr. Tom Walsh '79

Director of College Guidance, Classics

Mr. Tom Walsh '79

Title
Director of College Guidance, Classics

Department
Classics

Contact Me
tom.walsh@roxburylatin.org

Degrees
AB (1983) Bowdoin
MA (1993) Dartmouth

Employed Since
2002