الأخبار والفعاليات

الحب والمعلومات: مسرحية كبار هذا الخريف

خلال عطلة نهاية الأسبوع في 11 و 12 نوفمبر ، جلب أكثر من 40 ممثلا إلى الحياة الأفكار والعواطف والمحادثات والعلاقات التي تضم الكاتب المسرحي كاريل تشرشل الحب والمعلومات ، مسرحية روكسبري اللاتينية الخريف. الحب والمعلومات عبارة عن مجموعة من 49 مشهدا قصيرا ضمن سبعة أقسام ، يتراوح طول كل مشهد من أقل من [...]

تقدم RL مسرحية جونيور ، "الطباشير رخيصة" - إنتاج RL ، حول RL!

في 6 و 7 مايو ، ملأت مسرحية جونيور لهذا العام - وهو إنتاج قيد الإعداد لمدة عامين - مسرح سميث في الساعة 7:30 مساء .m كلتا الأمسيتين. كان من المقرر إنتاج Chalk Is Cheap ، وهي مسرحية أصلية كتبها مدير المدرسة المساعد مايك بوجمان ، في عام 2020 ، كجزء من الاحتفال بالذكرى السنوية ال 375 للمدرسة. كما هو الحال مع الكثير [...]

رحلة مدرسية بالكامل لتجربة "لقتل طائر محاكي"

في مساء يوم 7 أبريل، أتيحت لطلاب روكسبري لاتين وأعضاء هيئة التدريس والموظفين فرصة نادرة لحضور - كمدرسة كاملة - إنتاج مسرحي احترافي في دار أوبرا سيتيزنز بنك في بوسطن. جلب إنتاج برودواي المتجول المشهود له ل Harper Lee's To Kill A Mockingbird الحياة ، للمجتمع المدرسي وزملائه من رواد المسرح ، وهو العنصر الأساسي منذ فترة طويلة في [...]

روكسبري اللاتينية يعرض "قبض لي إذا كنت تستطيع"

قدمت روكسبري اللاتينية ومدرسة وينسور الإنتاج الموسيقي الشتوي لهذا العام – ضرب برودواي 2011 Catch Me If You Can - يومي الجمعة 25 فبراير والسبت 26 فبراير في مسرح سميث في RL. القصة هي عن المهرة يخدع الفنان والمحتال ، فرانك Abagnale الابن ، الذي عمل عن طريق الاحتيال كطبيب ، وهو محام ، ومساعد الطيار ل[...]

إنه حي! روكسبري اللاتينية يقدم فرانكشتاين

في 19 و 20 نوفمبر، روكسبري اللاتينية تحتفل العودة الكاملة إلى المسرح الحي كما إنتاج مسرحية كبار الخريف من فرانكشتاين يملأ مسرح سميث المرحلة. استنادا إلى رواية 1818 ماري شيلي, وتكييفها للمرحلة من قبل عزيزي في 2011, الإنتاج يحكي قصة فيكتور فرانكشتاين و [...]

حكايات كانتربري: مسرحية جونيور 2021

تقول مارج دان، مديرة مسرحية جونيور لهذا العام: "هذه ليست حكايات كانتربري لأسلافك. "بعد ستمائة عام من إرسال تشوسر لأول مرة حجاجه يتجولون في الريف الإنجليزي، تم تكييف الحكايات وتحديثها بطرق عديدة. في إنتاجنا، ونحن نشهد الحجاج رواية القصص من خلال عدسة مونتي بيثون- بارع wordplay، [...]

الشفق : لوس انجليس ، 1992 ، ولعب كبار السنة ، والعروض الأولى تقريبا

في التخطيط للعام الدراسي، كان مدير الدراما ديريك نيلسون يعرف أنه يجب أن يكون خلاقا من أجل تنظيم إنتاج درامي خلال وباء. وقد استجاب حله بأناقة لواقعين من واقع عام 2020: العزلة والابتعاد الاجتماعي الذي فرضه COVID-19، والانتفاضة ضد الظلم العنصري التي ميزت [...]

هل يمكنك التعامل مع الحقيقة؟ RL يعرض "عدد قليل من الرجال الجيدين"

في 22 و 23 نوفمبر، نظمت روكسبري اللاتينية مسرحية كبار العام - دراما آرون سوركين عدد قليل من الرجال الجيدين. وفي المسرحية، يواجه جنديان من مشاة البحرية الأميركية محاكمة عسكرية، بتهمة قتل أحد زملائه من مشاة البحرية في قاعدة خليج غوانتانامو البحرية في كوبا. في حين أنه يعتقد أن وفاته كانت انتقاما لتسميته آخر [...]

بيتر وStarcatcher : هذا العام لعب جونيور

في كل شتاء، يجتمع أصغر الممثلين والطاقم الناشئين في RL - من الفئة السادسة إلى الفئة الرابعة - مع نظرائهم في مدارس البنات لإنتاج المسرحية السنوية للصغار. في 1 مارس، افتتح بيتر وستاركاتشر مع السحر والمغامرة، ومع الكثير من الضحك من جمهور سعيد. ووصف مدير بول فالي المسرحية بأنها ليست [...]

"لا يمكن أن يحدث هنا" هو هذا الخريف كبار اللعب

في 16 و 17 نوفمبر، أدى الثيسبيان في RL مسرحية كبار هذا العام، "لا يمكن أن يحدث هنا"، استنادا إلى رواية 1935 شبه الساخرة من قبل سينكلير لويس. نشرت خلال صعود الفاشية في أوروبا ، والقصة يلي صعود الطنين Windrip ، وهو سياسي الكاريزمية المتعطشة للسلطة الذي انتخب رئيسا للولايات المتحدة على [...]

News & Events

Love and Information: This Fall’s Senior Play

Over the weekend of November 11 and 12, more than 40 actors brought to life the ideas and emotions, conversations and relationships comprising playwright Caryl Churchill’s Love and Information, Roxbury Latin’s fall Senior Play. Love and Information is a compilation of 49 short scenes within seven sections, each scene ranging in length from less than […]

RL Presents the Junior Play, “Chalk is Cheap”—A Production by RL, about RL!

On May 6 and 7, this year’s Junior Play—a production two years in the making—filled the Smith Theater stage at 7:30 p.m. both evenings. Chalk Is Cheap, an original play written by Associate Headmaster Mike Pojman, was intended to be produced in 2020, as part of the school’s 375th anniversary celebration. As with so many […]

All-School Trip to Experience “To Kill A Mockingbird”

On the evening of April 7, Roxbury Latin’s students, faculty, and staff had the rare opportunity to attend—as an entire school—a professional theater production at Boston’s Citizens Bank Opera House. Broadway’s acclaimed touring production of Harper Lee’s To Kill A Mockingbird brought to life, for the school community and fellow theater-goers, the long-time staple of […]

Roxbury Latin Presents “Catch Me If You Can”

Roxbury Latin and the Winsor School presented this year’s winter musical production—the 2011 Broadway hit Catch Me If You Can—on Friday, February 25, and Saturday, February 26, in RL’s Smith Theater. The story is about skilled con artist and imposter, Frank Abagnale Jr., who worked fraudulently as a doctor, a lawyer, and a co-pilot for […]

It’s Alive! Roxbury Latin Presents Frankenstein

On November 19 and 20, Roxbury Latin celebrates the full return to live theater as the fall’s Senior Play production of Frankenstein fills the Smith Theater stage. Based on the 1818 novel by Mary Shelley, and adapted for the stage by Nick Dear in 2011, the production tells the story of Victor Frankenstein and his […]

The Canterbury Tales: The 2021 Junior Play

“This is not your ancestors’ Canterbury Tales,” says Marge Dunn, director of this year’s Junior Play. “Six hundred years after Chaucer first sent his pilgrims ambling through the English countryside, the tales have been adapted and modernized in many ways. In our production, we witness the storytelling pilgrims through the lens of Monty Python—witty wordplay, […]

Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992, the Year’s Senior Play, Premieres Virtually

In planning for the school year, Director of Dramatics Derek Nelson knew that he would have to be creative in order to stage a drama production during a pandemic. His solution elegantly responded to two realities of 2020: The isolation and social distancing forced by COVID-19, and the uprising against racial injustice that marked the […]

Can You Handle The Truth? RL Showcases “A Few Good Men”

On November 22 and 23, Roxbury Latin staged the year’s Senior Play—Aaron Sorkin’s drama A Few Good Men. In the play, two U.S. Marines are facing a court-martial, accused of murdering a fellow Marine at the Guantanamo Bay Naval Base in Cuba. While it is believed that his death was retribution for him naming another […]

Peter and the Starcatcher: This Year’s Junior Play

Each winter, RL’s youngest, budding actors and crew—from Class VI through Class IV—come together with their girls’ school counterparts for the production of the annual Junior Play. On March 1, Peter and the Starcatcher opened with magic and adventure, and with much laughter from a delighted audience. Director Paul Valley described the play as not […]

“It Can’t Happen Here” is this Fall’s Senior Play

On November 16 and 17, RL’s thespians performed this year’s Senior Play, “It Can’t Happen Here,” based on the 1935 semi-satirical novel by Sinclair Lewis. Published during the rise of fascism in Europe, the story follows the ascent of Buzz Windrip, a charismatic and power-hungry politician who is elected President of the United States on […]