新闻与活动

爱与信息。今年秋季的老年戏剧

在11月11日和12日的周末,40多名演员将剧作家Caryl Churchill的《爱与信息》中的思想和情感、对话和关系带到了生活中,这是Roxbury Latin的秋季高级戏剧。爱与信息》由七个部分的49个短场景组成,每个场景的长度从不到[...]不等。

RL推出少年剧《粉笔是廉价的》--由RL制作,关于RL!

5月6日和7日,今年的少年剧--一个酝酿了两年的作品在史密斯剧院的舞台上,两晚都是晚上7点半。粉笔是廉价的,这是由副校长Mike Pojman创作的原创剧目,打算在2020年制作,作为学校375周年庆典的一部分。与许多[...]一样

全校师生体验 "杀死一只知更鸟 "之旅

4月7日晚,罗克斯伯里拉丁学校的学生、教师和工作人员有一个难得的机会,作为一个整体参加了在波士顿公民银行歌剧院举行的专业戏剧表演。百老汇广受赞誉的哈珀-李的《杀死一只知更鸟》的巡回演出,为学校社区和其他戏剧观众带来了生活中长期的主食[...] 。

罗克斯伯里拉丁舞团带来的 "如果你能抓住我"。

罗克斯伯里拉丁学校和南联学校于2月25日星期五和2月26日星期六在罗克斯伯里的史密斯剧院上演了今年的冬季音乐剧--2011年百老汇名剧《抓住我》。这个故事是关于熟练的骗子和冒名顶替者小弗兰克-阿巴戈内尔,他以医生、律师和副驾驶的身份进行欺诈[...] 。

它是活的!罗克斯伯里拉丁舞团演出《弗兰肯斯泰因

11月19日和20日,Roxbury Latin庆祝全面回归现场戏剧,因为秋季的高级戏剧作品《弗兰肯斯坦》充满了史密斯剧院的舞台。该剧根据玛丽-雪莱1818年的小说改编,并由尼克-迪尔在2011年改编为舞台剧,讲述了维克多-弗兰肯斯坦和他的[...]的故事。

坎特伯雷故事》。2021年青少年戏剧

"这不是你祖先的《坎特伯雷故事》,"今年的少年剧导演玛吉-邓恩说。"在乔叟第一次派他的朝圣者在英国乡间漫步的六百年后,这些故事已经在许多方面被改编和现代化了。在我们的作品中,我们通过Monty Python-witty wordplay的镜头见证了讲故事的朝圣者,[...] 。

你能处理好真相吗?RL展示了 "几个好男人"

11月22日和23日,罗克斯伯里拉丁学校上演了今年的高级戏剧--沙龙-索金的戏剧《少数好男人》。在该剧中,两名美国海军陆战队员正面临军事法庭,他们被指控在古巴关塔那摩湾海军基地谋杀了一名海军陆战队员。虽然人们认为他的死亡是对他命名另一个[...]的报应。

彼得与追星族》(Peter and the Starcatcher)。今年的少年剧

每年冬天,RL最年轻的、崭露头角的演员和工作人员--从六年级到四年级--都会与他们的女校同学一起参加一年一度的少年剧演出。3月1日,《彼得与追星族》在魔法和冒险中开演,并伴随着观众的欢笑。导演保罗-瓦利将该剧描述为不[...]。

"不可能在这里发生 "是今年秋季的老年剧。

11月16日和17日,RL的演员们表演了今年的老年剧《这里不可能发生》,该剧改编自辛克莱尔-刘易斯1935年的半讽刺小说。该小说发表于欧洲法西斯主义兴起的时期,故事讲述了巴兹-温德里普的崛起,他是一个富有魅力且渴望权力的政治家,在[...]上当选美国总统。

News & Events

Love and Information: This Fall’s Senior Play

Over the weekend of November 11 and 12, more than 40 actors brought to life the ideas and emotions, conversations and relationships comprising playwright Caryl Churchill’s Love and Information, Roxbury Latin’s fall Senior Play. Love and Information is a compilation of 49 short scenes within seven sections, each scene ranging in length from less than […]

RL Presents the Junior Play, “Chalk is Cheap”—A Production by RL, about RL!

On May 6 and 7, this year’s Junior Play—a production two years in the making—filled the Smith Theater stage at 7:30 p.m. both evenings. Chalk Is Cheap, an original play written by Associate Headmaster Mike Pojman, was intended to be produced in 2020, as part of the school’s 375th anniversary celebration. As with so many […]

All-School Trip to Experience “To Kill A Mockingbird”

On the evening of April 7, Roxbury Latin’s students, faculty, and staff had the rare opportunity to attend—as an entire school—a professional theater production at Boston’s Citizens Bank Opera House. Broadway’s acclaimed touring production of Harper Lee’s To Kill A Mockingbird brought to life, for the school community and fellow theater-goers, the long-time staple of […]

Roxbury Latin Presents “Catch Me If You Can”

Roxbury Latin and the Winsor School presented this year’s winter musical production—the 2011 Broadway hit Catch Me If You Can—on Friday, February 25, and Saturday, February 26, in RL’s Smith Theater. The story is about skilled con artist and imposter, Frank Abagnale Jr., who worked fraudulently as a doctor, a lawyer, and a co-pilot for […]

It’s Alive! Roxbury Latin Presents Frankenstein

On November 19 and 20, Roxbury Latin celebrates the full return to live theater as the fall’s Senior Play production of Frankenstein fills the Smith Theater stage. Based on the 1818 novel by Mary Shelley, and adapted for the stage by Nick Dear in 2011, the production tells the story of Victor Frankenstein and his […]

The Canterbury Tales: The 2021 Junior Play

“This is not your ancestors’ Canterbury Tales,” says Marge Dunn, director of this year’s Junior Play. “Six hundred years after Chaucer first sent his pilgrims ambling through the English countryside, the tales have been adapted and modernized in many ways. In our production, we witness the storytelling pilgrims through the lens of Monty Python—witty wordplay, […]

Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992, the Year’s Senior Play, Premieres Virtually

In planning for the school year, Director of Dramatics Derek Nelson knew that he would have to be creative in order to stage a drama production during a pandemic. His solution elegantly responded to two realities of 2020: The isolation and social distancing forced by COVID-19, and the uprising against racial injustice that marked the […]

Can You Handle The Truth? RL Showcases “A Few Good Men”

On November 22 and 23, Roxbury Latin staged the year’s Senior Play—Aaron Sorkin’s drama A Few Good Men. In the play, two U.S. Marines are facing a court-martial, accused of murdering a fellow Marine at the Guantanamo Bay Naval Base in Cuba. While it is believed that his death was retribution for him naming another […]

Peter and the Starcatcher: This Year’s Junior Play

Each winter, RL’s youngest, budding actors and crew—from Class VI through Class IV—come together with their girls’ school counterparts for the production of the annual Junior Play. On March 1, Peter and the Starcatcher opened with magic and adventure, and with much laughter from a delighted audience. Director Paul Valley described the play as not […]

“It Can’t Happen Here” is this Fall’s Senior Play

On November 16 and 17, RL’s thespians performed this year’s Senior Play, “It Can’t Happen Here,” based on the 1935 semi-satirical novel by Sinclair Lewis. Published during the rise of fascism in Europe, the story follows the ascent of Buzz Windrip, a charismatic and power-hungry politician who is elected President of the United States on […]