Track & Field claims New England Division III title

2017 New England Division III Champions (photos by Jodi Dromgoole)
Milan Rosen (Class III) clears 11 feet for first place
Pole vaulters Ian Kelly (Class I), Milan Rosen (Class III), and Evan Lim (Class II)
Brendan Gibbons (Class III) throws the javelin 149 feet, 4 inches for second place
Tim McCarthy took second in the 100-meter high hurdles, as well as two other events

Roxbury Latin’s track and field team won the 2017 New England Division III Championship on Saturday, narrowly defeating second place Portsmouth Abbey by just two points. 527 total points were available in the meet, and Roxbury Latin scored 65 to Portsmouth Abbey’s 63. Pingree finished third, with 43 points. With the win, Roxbury Latin has now won 10 of the last 13 New England Division III Championships in track and field.


Approximately one-third of RL’s points were claimed in the pole vault, where Milan Rosen (Class III) took first place with a jump of 11 feet, Ian Kelly (Class I) finished second, and Evan Lim (Class II) tied for third. Another one-third of the team’s points were scored by Tim McCarthy (Class I), who finished second in three separate events (110-meter high hurdles, 300-meter intermediate hurdles, and the triple jump) and also anchored RL’s 4×400-meter relay team, which finished fifth overall.


Other highlights included Hamilton Coiscou’s second place performance in the 200-meters. After suffering a torn ACL in the fall while playing football, Coiscou (Class I) rehabbed all winter and spring and missed three-fourths of the track and field season. His race at the New England Championship was only his fifth of the spring.


Rohan Sheth (Class III) ran a personal best of 9:44.7 in the 3,000-meter race, fast enough to claim sixth place.  And Brendan Gibbons (Class III) snagged third place in the javelin with a throw of 149 feet, four inches – a full 22-feet further than his previous personal best and only eight inches shy of first place. 


Roxbury Latin’s track and field team is coached by Erin Dromgoole (head coach), Chris Heaton, Jamie Morris-Kliment, Arturo Solis, Nick Poles, and Bruce Lynch. Click here for full results of the meet.