Two Seniors Awarded National Merit Scholarships

The National Merit Scholarship Program recently announced its selection of 2,500 scholarship winners, chosen from a pool of 15,000 talented high school senior finalists across the country. These members of the Class of 2022 will each receive $2,500 scholarships toward college next year. Among these outstanding students, nation-wide, are two Roxbury Latin seniors: Liam Finn and Max Williams.

The National Merit Scholarship Program selection process began in October 2020, when more than 1.5 million juniors took the PSAT, or the National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. In addition to Liam and Max being identified as semi-finalists, representing less than one percent of the nation’s highest scores, sixteen additional RL students received commendations, meaning their scores placed them in about the top 4% of all test-takers. Those students are Eli Bailit, James De Vito, Vishnu Emani, Teddy Glaeser, Liam Grossman, Mark Henshon, Colin Herbert, Josh Krakauer, Brodie Lee, George Madison, Kayden Miller, Ale Philippides, David Sullivan, Theo Teng, Oliver Wyner, and Alex Yin.

It is a great honor to have two National Merit Scholarship winners in a graduating senior class of 53. Congratulations to all 18 boys who received recognition from the National Merit Scholarship Program this year.

In this 67th annual National Merit Scholarship competition, awards are supported by the organization and approximately 400 businesses and educational institutions, to “honor the nation’s scholastic champions and encourage the pursuit of academic excellence.” About 1.5 million juniors in more than 21,000 high schools entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship program by taking the 2020 PSAT, which serves as an initial screen of program entrants. Scholarship recipients are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for academic success at the college level.