Roxbury Latin Hosts Graves-Kelsey Tournament, With a Fourth Place Finish

On February 8, Roxbury Latin’s campus buzzed with the energy that 13 schools’ worth of wrestlers, coaches, and fans can generate. RL played host to this year’s Graves-Kelsey Tournament—the Independent School League wrestling championships, named for long-time and legendary coaches Bert Kelsey of Roxbury Latin, and Gibby Graves of Buckingham Browne & Nichols.

Earning a competitive fourth place finish overall in a field of 13 teams, Roxbury Latin’s wrestlers exhibited dedication and toughness in a collective effort, with 7 of 12 wrestlers placing. “Each wrestler worked his hardest and showed a lot of grit,” said head coach Josh Wildes. Seniors Javi Rios and Evan Kisselev placed first in their weight classes. Keaton Sahin (II) earned a second place finish, and Mat Cefail (I), Pete Levangie (I), and Justin Shaw (IV) placed third in their respective weight classes. Coming in sixth place in his weight class was Miguel Rincon (II). Rounding out the RL team were tournament representatives Nick Consigli (V), Aidan Gibbons (IV), Richard Impert (I), Kayden Miller (III), and Thomas Savage (IV). Justin Shaw put up a particularly valiant effort, emerging victorious in a dramatic triple-overtime, sudden-death win to capture third place. The team winning overall first place in the tournament was from Belmont Hill.

The Graves-Kelsey Tournament was named in honor of Gibby Graves and Bert Kelsey in 1966. Bert was Roxbury Latin’s wrestling coach from 1937 to 1966, earning 24 winning seasons and numerous individual championships. A master of English and debate, his energy and good nature endeared him to hundreds of students. Gibby Graves was a long-time coach at Buckingham Browne and Nichols and was a pioneer in developing the league tournament. Roxbury Latin has earned the title of Graves-Kelsey Champion 20 times since 1966.

Six members of RL’s wrestling team will continue on to the New England Championships this weekend, including Justin Shaw, Keaton Sahin, Mat Cefail, Evan Kisselev, Pete Levangie, and Javi Rios.

View photos of the tournament, taken by Evan Scales.