Prize Day 2018

On 30 May the Class of 2018 took their front row seats in Hall for the last time as the First Class, and anticipated, along with the classes behind them, this year’s roster of prize-winners and their plaudits. Every year its singular purpose is to recognize discernible excellence in all areas of school life and across every class. (See photos here.)

Major athletic awards to Class I:
ISL: Ayinde Best
Sportsmanship: Evan Lim
Scholar-Athlete: Paul Kuechler
Best Athlete: Jim Duffy

Varsity Athletic awards to Class I:
Soccer: Ben Bryant
Lacrosse: Thomas Englert
Hockey: James Duffy and Zach Milton
Tennis: Harris Foulkes
Football: Thomas Bulger
Basketball: Sawyer Wellman
Track & Field: Paul Kuechler
Cross Country: Ben Lawlor
Wrestling: Evan Lim
Baseball: Robert Crawford

Major book awards to boys in Class II:
Holy Cross Book Award: Nate Lopes
Brown University Book Award: Erik Zou
Dartmouth Book Award: Rohan Sheth
Harvard Book Prize: Ethan Kee

Academic awards:
The Joseph A. Sasserno French Deturs: George Madison V, Thomas Gaziano IV, Christopher Zhu III, Dominc Gaziano II, Reis White I
Headmaster’s Spanish Deturs: Eli Bailit V, Daniel Berk IV, Michael Stankovich III, Tomas Gustafsson II, Robert Crawford I
The Isabel M. Fowler History Prizes: Nicholas Frumkin VI, Peter Frates IV, Andrew Zhang III, John Frates II, Andrew Steinberg I
The Richard M. Whitney Science Deturs: Gabriel Stankovich VI, Mark Henshon V, Andrew Zhang III, Rohan Sheth II
The N. Henry Black Science Detur: Zach Levin I
The Donald L. Whittle Deturs: Justin Shaw VI, Vishnu Emani V, John Carroll IV, Chris Zhu III, Kalyan Palepu II
The Islay F. McCormick Mathematics Prize: David Ma I
The Anna Cabot Lowell Deturs in English: Tait Oberg VI, Theodore Glaeser V, Ethan Phan IV, Jonathan Weiss III, Erik Zou II, Dylan Zhou I
The Trustees' Greek Deturs: Jonathan Weiss III, Coleman Smith II, Ben LaFond I
The Anna Cabot Lowell Deturs in Latin: Robert Zabin VI, Vishnu Emani V, Daniel Sun-Friedman IV, John Harrington III, Gilbert Rosenthal II, Ben LaFond

Extra-curricular awards:
Lower School Latin Declamation Prize: Robert O’Grady
Upper School Latin Declamation Prize: Coleman Smith
Greek Declamation Prize: Thomas Bulger
The Cameron A. Rylance Music Prize: Ben Lawlor
The Ralph F.F. Brooks Art Prize: Andrew Gray
The Philip A. Kaye Prize: Justin Shaw
The Joan M. Regan Service Prize: Cole Englert
The Class of 1976 Dramatics Prize: Andrew White and Reis White
The Gerhard Rehder Prize in International Relations: Connor Dowd
The Albert W. Kelsey Debate Prize: Joe Nero and Andrew Steinberg
The Publications Award: Robert Crawford